Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Set Default to xterm

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    34

    Set Default to xterm

    I have ALT-N set through my Keyboard Shortcuts to create a new Terminal. But, that terminal is currently a gnome-terminal. I want to change the default terminal to an xterm. How can I do this?

    Also, when I use ALT-N to create a new terminal, and I'm currently in Workspace 2, it creates that terminal in workspace-1, and switches to workspace-1. This isn't what I want. Can I create the new terminal in whatever worksapce I'm currently in? Is GNOME broken on Ubuntu?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Lubuntu Development Release

    Re: Set Default to xterm

    I don't know about the workspaces thing (very odd - compiz place windows plugin or similiar?), but to set the default terminal emulator you can use this command:

    Code:
    sudo update-alternatives --config x-terminal-emulator

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    WI USA
    Beans
    10,541
    Distro
    Ubuntu 15.04 Vivid Vervet

    Re: Set Default to xterm

    I can't reproduce the terminal placement problem, but I am not using a custom keyboard shortcut. If open a second terminal on workspace 2 it appears there . I use the standard Ctrl + Alt + T shortcut.
    Infinite diversity in infinite combination.

    Ubuntu Documentation Search: Popular Pages
    Ubuntu: Security Basics
    Ubuntu: Manual

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    34

    Re: Set Default to xterm

    I tried 'sudo update-alternatives --config x-terminal-emulator' and it didn't change anything. When I ALT-N for a new terminal, it doesn't bring up an xterm: it brings up a gnome-terminal I think.
    Last edited by UserJB; May 4th, 2013 at 04:12 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    WI USA
    Beans
    10,541
    Distro
    Ubuntu 15.04 Vivid Vervet

    Re: Set Default to xterm

    I use the XFCE session along with Gnome and Unity and it does allow changing the default terminal via the GUI . I like it better than Classic feature wise.
    Infinite diversity in infinite combination.

    Ubuntu Documentation Search: Popular Pages
    Ubuntu: Security Basics
    Ubuntu: Manual

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    34

    Re: Set Default to xterm

    What does 'XFCE Session' mean and how do I use it?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Lubuntu Development Release

    Re: Set Default to xterm

    Quote Originally Posted by UserJB View Post
    I tried 'sudo update-alternatives --config x-terminal-emulator' and it didn't change anything. When I ALT-N for a new terminal, it doesn't bring up an xterm: it brings up a gnome-terminal I think.
    If you run the command x-terminal-emulator, it uses the default terminal for the system. Whatever shortcut program you're using must be launching gnome-terminal specifically.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Beans
    39
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Set Default to xterm

    Code:
     gsettings set org.gnome.desktop.default-applications.terminal exec 'xterm'
    This should work
    Last edited by BluNova; May 5th, 2013 at 10:21 AM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •