Thread: Creating a server?

Beans

Creating a server?

I would like to set up an Ubuntu computer that would be able to torrent things using a VPN for a network of about 35-40 computers, afterwards I would like to have a shared folder that people can go into and copy files remotely into their own computers. I would also like to have the torrents scheduled to not download at a certain time period. I have never used Ubuntu Server before, but I have used the Ubuntu OS before. How would I go about doing this? Should I even use a server for this? What are the benefits of making a server for this instead of just an Ubuntu PC? Would I be able to still use the server for other, everyday uses such as printing, using google chrome to surf the internet, writing documents, etc.?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

Re: Creating a server?

Besides the difference in the default packages installed, the primary difference between the server install and the desktop install is the kernel.

The desktop kernel is optimized for user responsiveness, whereas the server kernel is optimized for services. For example, the server kernel has a much longer time-slice so that it does not spend so much of its time switching between processes. This approach would make for a poor user experience with a GUI.
    24 beers in a case, 24 hours in a day. Coincidence? I think not!

Trusty Tahr 64 bit, AMD Phenom II 955 Quad Core 3.2GHz, GeForce 9600 GT
    16G PC2-6400 RAM, 128 GB SSD, Twin 1TB SATA 7200 RPM RAID0

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by Slim Odds View Post
    Besides the difference in the default packages installed, the primary difference between the server install and the desktop install is the kernel.