Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: favourite distros

Hybrid View

Beans

favourite distros

Hi Everyone
    I'm a novice, to the linux distro universe. And I know this is a buntu centric forum, but I was wondering, apart from the different buntu distros, which other distros are your favourite and why?

I know there are as many distros out there, as there are linux users. And each one caters to different needs and I have looked on distro watch. However, I was hoping you guys could give some personal recommendations based on what you like. So that I could narrow down the choices a little

For myself, I'm a long time mircosoft xp user. And being a new linux user, I am looking for user friendly distros, but want to dive in to the deep end now. So not really bothered if they "look" like microsoft. I'm not, however, ready for the open ocean, so no Arch linux for my just yet, I've tried:
    lubuntu
    xubuntu
    zorin

I'll be installing ubuntu next. I am also looking at other distros like
    cylon
    manjaro
    mageia
    openSUSE
    elementary os

Thanks for all the help and suggestions

Kojak

Beans

Re: favourite distros

Mint mate/cinnamon
    Lubuntu
    Tiny core
    Puppy

Beans

My current personal favorite is Mint.

However, to be honest, I've never tried a Linux distro I've disliked (and I've tried dozens of them). All of the major distros provide the same basic functionality and software applications.

Therefore I recommend you choose one distro and learn it in depth, rather than bounce around between a lot of different distros. You will learn more the longer you spend with one distro, in my opinion.

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

depends what i'm using them on
    Siemens laptop i5 / 8gb ram / hybrid hdd - Ubuntu 12.04 unity +gnome
    Toshiba netbook mint nadia xfce
    yes i'm a nood

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin