Page 11 of 19 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast
Results 101 to 110 of 185

Thread: how to change repos to Saucy

  1. #101
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Beta Testing in Canada
    Beans
    5,494
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: how to change repos to Saucy

    Wow.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    This is Rolling Release
    Warnings for New Beta Testers& Helpful Terminal Commands:
    Running Trusty /devel/@ 5.120GHz32bit/ Please put [ prefix] on New Threads!

  2. #102
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    West Virginia
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: how to change repos to Saucy

    Quote Originally Posted by serdotlinecho View Post
    Saucy cycle conundrum...

    - Are we going to update gtk to 3.8 and follow gnome upstream?
    - Or are we going to remove gtk/gnome apps(totem, eog, gnome-terminal, nautilus etc) and move to Qt/QML apps?
    - Are we going to start testing Unity Next and Mir in this cycle?
    I would say yes to all of the following except removing gtk/gnome apps.

    Ubuntu is not as deeply worried in putting all of its efforts into following Gnome completely upstream durring this cycle, but I'd imagine 3.8 is available before 13.10, especially because of the existance of Gnomebuntu 13.10.


    In other news:
    Code:
    The following packages will be REMOVED:
      linux-generic
    The following NEW packages will be installed:
      linux-headers-3.9.0-0 linux-headers-3.9.0-0-generic linux-image-3.9.0-0-generic
    The following packages have been kept back:
      linux-image-generic
    The following packages will be upgraded:
      linux-headers-generic
    1 upgraded, 3 newly installed, 1 to remove and 1 not upgraded.
    Need to get 55.1 MB of archives.
    After this operation, 237 MB of additional disk space will be used.
    Do you want to continue [Y/n]? 
    ]
    In recent updates. Be careful!
    Last edited by Mathor; April 27th, 2013 at 04:40 PM.

  3. #103
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Beta Testing in Canada
    Beans
    5,494
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: how to change repos to Saucy

    Quote Originally Posted by Mathor View Post
    I would say yes to all of the following except removing gtk/gnome apps.

    Ubuntu is not as deeply worried in putting all of its efforts into following Gnome completely upstream durring this cycle, but I'd imagine 3.8 is available before 13.10, especially because of the existance of Gnomebuntu 13.10.


    In other news:
    Code:
    The following packages will be REMOVED:
      linux-generic
    The following NEW packages will be installed:
      linux-headers-3.9.0-0 linux-headers-3.9.0-0-generic linux-image-3.9.0-0-generic
    The following packages have been kept back:
      linux-image-generic
    The following packages will be upgraded:
      linux-headers-generic
    1 upgraded, 3 newly installed, 1 to remove and 1 not upgraded.
    Need to get 55.1 MB of archives.
    After this operation, 237 MB of additional disk space will be used.
    Do you want to continue [Y/n]? 
    ]
    In recent updates. Be careful!

    I just rolled with it and no problems so far.
    This is Rolling Release
    Warnings for New Beta Testers& Helpful Terminal Commands:
    Running Trusty /devel/@ 5.120GHz32bit/ Please put [ prefix] on New Threads!

  4. #104
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New York, NY
    Beans
    1,106
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: how to change repos to Saucy

    Hmmm...i wonder if might work better for me now if i tried to switch over my repos to saucy using the terminal commands...didn't work for me when i tried on thursday...but perhaps all the mirrors and packages weren't working 100% at that time...(what happened was mine wasn't changed and the updater simply reverted back to raring on the sources)...not sure if i should "chance" it...
    And it has been mentioned here that trying it through the gui method is rather risky...
    Last edited by craig10x; April 27th, 2013 at 05:56 PM.

  5. #105
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    NH USA
    Beans
    1,269
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: how to change repos to Saucy

    Quote Originally Posted by craig10x View Post
    Hmmm...i wonder if might work better for me now if i tried to switch over my repos to saucy using the terminal commands...didn't work for me when i tried on thursday...but perhaps all the mirrors and packages weren't working 100% at that time...(what happened was mine wasn't changed and the updater simply reverted back to raring on the sources)...not sure if i should "chance" it...
    And it has been mentioned here that trying it through the gui method is rather risky...
    If you try it, be sure to add the lines to Ubuntu.info, as described in a post from pnarciso on the first page of this thread. It didn't work properly for me until I did this, and worked fine afterwards.

    Also, be sure your first upgrade is a dist-upgrade...

  6. #106
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Beta Testing in Canada
    Beans
    5,494
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: how to change repos to Saucy

    Quote Originally Posted by craig10x View Post
    Hmmm...i wonder if might work better for me now if i tried to switch over my repos to saucy using the terminal commands...didn't work for me when i tried on thursday...but perhaps all the mirrors and packages weren't working 100% at that time...(what happened was mine wasn't changed and the updater simply reverted back to raring on the sources)...not sure if i should "chance" it...
    And it has been mentioned here that trying it through the gui method is rather risky...
    Please check out my sig.

    Thanks
    This is Rolling Release
    Warnings for New Beta Testers& Helpful Terminal Commands:
    Running Trusty /devel/@ 5.120GHz32bit/ Please put [ prefix] on New Threads!

  7. #107
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sheffield, England
    Beans
    120
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: how to change repos to Saucy

    I'm feeling left out, I'm setup for 13.10, but not getting any updates whatsoever & other posters seem to be getting updates. What's the trick to getting updates?

    Roland
    Toshiba Satellite Running Ubuntu Development Release

  8. #108
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM US
    Beans
    314
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: how to change repos to Saucy

    Good question...I am not seeing the 3.9 kernel....or much else.
    rt
    cheap hardware....LOTS of it

  9. #109
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    West Virginia
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: how to change repos to Saucy

    Quote Originally Posted by roly33 View Post
    I'm feeling left out, I'm setup for 13.10, but not getting any updates whatsoever & other posters seem to be getting updates. What's the trick to getting updates?

    Roland
    Make sure you have your sources.list pointed to saucy. Then, whenever you want to check for updates do sudo apt-get update and sudo apt-get dist-upgrade. This will pull in the newest updates from saucy-proposed and saucy.

  10. #110
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Beta Testing in Canada
    Beans
    5,494
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: how to change repos to Saucy

    Quote Originally Posted by Mathor View Post
    Make sure you have your sources.list pointed to saucy. Then, whenever you want to check for updates do sudo apt-get update and sudo apt-get dist-upgrade. This will pull in the newest updates from saucy-proposed and saucy.

    And if this does not work, synaptic will.
    This is Rolling Release
    Warnings for New Beta Testers& Helpful Terminal Commands:
    Running Trusty /devel/@ 5.120GHz32bit/ Please put [ prefix] on New Threads!

Page 11 of 19 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •