Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: [SOLVED] No WAN connection, but LAN connection is OK

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    10

    [SOLVED] No WAN connection, but LAN connection is OK

    After the last automatic update internet is down whether I use wifi or ethernet. I use Ubuntu 12.04 on a Dell XPS laptop.
    I can connect to the router, and use the web interface to configure it. I can ping all devices on the LAN side successfully. Pinging any site on the WAN side fails. All other PCs, tablets, and phones on the same LAN can connect to the internet no problem.
    I have rebooted the laptop and the router many times. I have reset router to default settings and no success. Router is at 192.168.1.254 and laptop is at 192.168.1.3 set by DHCP. I am not using any firewall software. This is most likely a software issue not a router/hardware issue.
    Any tips to fix my connection before I install new version of Ubuntu from a CD? Thanks in advance!

    PHP Code:
    ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap
    :Ethernet HWaddr 00:21:9b:db:5a:ca
        UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU
    :1500 Metric:1
        RX packets
    :0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
        TX packets
    :0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
        collisions
    :0 txqueuelen:1000
        RX bytes
    :(0.0 BTX bytes:(0.0 BInterrupt:17

    lo Link encap
    :Local Loopback
        inet addr
    :127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
        inet6 addr
    : ::1/128 Scope:Host
        UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU
    :16436 Metric:1
        RX packets
    :0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
        TX packets
    :0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
        collisions
    :0 txqueuelen:0
        RX bytes
    :(0.0 BTX bytes:(0.0 B)
    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1d:e0:50:c8:d1
        inet addr
    :192.168.1.3 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
        inet6 addr
    fe80::21d:e0ff:fe50:c8d1/64 Scope:Link
        UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU
    :1500 Metric:1
        RX packets
    :162 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
        TX packets
    :182 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
        collisions
    :0 txqueuelen:1000
        RX bytes
    :30715 (30.7 KBTX bytes:23103 (23.1 KB)

    netstat -nr
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination Gateway Genmask Flags MSS Window irtt Iface
    0.0.0.0 192.168.1.254 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 wlan0
    169.254.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.0.0 U 0 0 0 wlan0
    192.168.1.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 wlan0 
    Last edited by dpechiu; April 28th, 2013 at 07:10 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Not heaven... Iowa
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: No WAN connection, but LAN connection is OK

    Are you pinging the WAN by name or IP address (or both)?
    If via IP works, it may be DNS problem.
    Linux User #415691 Ubuntu User #8629
    Iowa Team (LoCo): [Wiki] [Launchpad] [Sub-forum]
    IRC channel: #ubuntu-us-ia on irc.freenode.net

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    10

    Re: No WAN connection, but LAN connection is OK

    I've pinged websites by name. Firefox cannot connect to any site. Skype cannot connect to its server. That's how I concluded that I can't connect to the WAN. Keep in mind that all other devices on the LAN have no DNS trouble.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Not heaven... Iowa
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: No WAN connection, but LAN connection is OK

    Try an IP ping... 173.194.46.72 or 8.8.8.8.

    You might also check Network Manager connection information to see if it shows a valid DNS Server.
    Last edited by Iowan; April 24th, 2013 at 02:28 AM.
    Linux User #415691 Ubuntu User #8629
    Iowa Team (LoCo): [Wiki] [Launchpad] [Sub-forum]
    IRC channel: #ubuntu-us-ia on irc.freenode.net

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    10

    Re: No WAN connection, but LAN connection is OK

    Pinging both out those IPs works! I don't have network manager installed, and can't use apt-get cause of the dns issue...

    I found edit connections from the top bar and added the opendns IPs. Also I edited /etc/dhcp/dhclient.conf and added the IPs there as well. Still it doesn't work.

    I can browse google if I use it's IP address...
    Last edited by dpechiu; April 24th, 2013 at 06:47 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Not heaven... Iowa
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: No WAN connection, but LAN connection is OK

    Quote Originally Posted by dpechiu View Post
    I found edit connections from the top bar and added the opendns IPs.
    That's what I've been calling Network Manager
    Quote Originally Posted by dpechiu View Post
    Also I edited /etc/dhcp/dhclient.conf and added the IPs there as well.
    Where in /etc/dhcp/dhclient.conf did you add them?
    Did you reboot or restart networking after making the changes?
    /etc/resolv.conf is another place to look. My machine has nameserver 127.0.0.1 in /etc/resolv.conf, but the Connection Information shows the proper DNS server. The DHCP server should provide this info.

    Here is a DNS-changing thread that might be helpful.
    Last edited by Iowan; April 24th, 2013 at 11:40 PM.
    Linux User #415691 Ubuntu User #8629
    Iowa Team (LoCo): [Wiki] [Launchpad] [Sub-forum]
    IRC channel: #ubuntu-us-ia on irc.freenode.net

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    10

    Re: No WAN connection, but LAN connection is OK

    Thanks for you reply!
    Yes I was confused by what you called Network Manager. I couldn't find any tool named as such when looked for it.
    Regardless, I've set the ipv4 to Automatic (DHCP) addresses only, and it allowed me to enter a DNS.
    I've added 208.67.222.222, 208.67.220.220 there

    On opendns.com I found out how to add the DNS addresses for Ubuntu from : https://store.opendns.com/setup/operatingsystem/ubuntu

    Code:
    sudo gedit /etc/dhcp3/dhclient.conf
    Added
    Code:
    supersede domain-name-servers 208.67.222.222,208.67.220.220;
    ..right before the require subnet-mask line.

    I then rebooted the machine, but no cigar.

    I did check out the thread you mentioned and I did exactly the steps mentioned for Ubuntu Desktop, as that's what I have.

    I did not look at /etc/resolv.conf as that gets overwritten according to most threads I've read.
    Last edited by dpechiu; April 25th, 2013 at 12:49 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Not heaven... Iowa
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: No WAN connection, but LAN connection is OK

    I usually use the prepend domain-name-servers line to add my choice servers to the top of whatever list DHCP provides...
    As an aside - it is recommended to use gksudo with graphical apps like nautilus or gedit.

    I presume /etc/network/interfaces has only setup for lo (loopback device). If eth0 is defined there, NM will probably ignore it (although eth0 should not show up in NM, then).
    Last edited by Iowan; April 25th, 2013 at 01:06 AM.
    Linux User #415691 Ubuntu User #8629
    Iowa Team (LoCo): [Wiki] [Launchpad] [Sub-forum]
    IRC channel: #ubuntu-us-ia on irc.freenode.net

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    10

    Re: No WAN connection, but LAN connection is OK

    /etc/network/interfaces contains:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback

    I've added the IPs as you suggested with prepend, rebooted, and still no go. "Connection Information" does show the DNS IPs correctly.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    10

    Re: No WAN connection, but LAN connection is OK

    Update:
    Skype was able to connect.
    Firefox and Update Manager do not work

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •