Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: "[init] database is locked" when starting app

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Beans
    436
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: "[init] database is locked" when starting app

    that returns a bunch of of permission denied notifications, running with sudo returns absolutely nothing for both /tmp and /var

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Beans
    436
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: "[init] database is locked" when starting app

    Quote Originally Posted by Bashing-om View Post
    kurja;

    Another thought, is this on a NFS-mount ... or directly from the local machine ?
    local.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    germany
    Beans
    1,020
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: "[init] database is locked" when starting app

    hi
    ok let's try "strace".
    open a terminal and run: strace -f -o bla.txt -e trace=open,fcntl,stat name_how_you_start_your_database
    post the output of bla or have a look by yourself at the file. it is plain ascii. you have to look for the fcntl systemcall - looks like
    fcntl(3, F_SETLK, {type=F_WRLCK, whence=SEEK_SET, start=0, len=0}) = 0
    go back in the trace until you find the open-call with the file-descriptor (here 3)
    the open-call looks like: open("blu", O_RDWR) = 3
    and you can see that the process want to lock "blu". this should be the lockfile.
    move this file "blu" to _blu and try to start your database again.
    good luck
    ciao
    "What is the robbing of a bank compared to the FOUNDING of a bank?" Berthold Brecht

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    3,509

    Re: "[init] database is locked" when starting app

    Could try looking at your hidden config files in your home directory.
    Possibly a .lock file that wasn't released due to the crash.
    Maybe delete ~/.config/darktable if it exists.
    Last edited by stinkeye; April 11th, 2013 at 04:33 AM.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Beans
    436
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: "[init] database is locked" when starting app

    Quote Originally Posted by rnerwein View Post
    hi
    ok let's try "strace".
    open a terminal and run: strace -f -o bla.txt -e trace=open,fcntl,stat name_how_you_start_your_database
    post the output of bla or have a look by yourself at the file. it is plain ascii. you have to look for the fcntl systemcall - looks like
    fcntl(3, F_SETLK, {type=F_WRLCK, whence=SEEK_SET, start=0, len=0}) = 0
    go back in the trace until you find the open-call with the file-descriptor (here 3)
    the open-call looks like: open("blu", O_RDWR) = 3
    and you can see that the process want to lock "blu". this should be the lockfile.
    move this file "blu" to _blu and try to start your database again.
    good luck
    ciao
    output of that strace command is the very same database locked- message

    in bla.txt, I found ".config/darktable/library.db", O_RDWR|O_CREAT|O_LARGEFILE, 0644) = 4"

    I renamed the file, and now darktable starts!! Apparently the database contained just thumbnail images.

    Thank you all!

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    ozarks, Arkansas, USA
    Beans
    10,778
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: "[init] database is locked" when starting app

    kurja;
    That is great news, pleased it is resolved. -> strace to the rescue again !
    Please mark this thread as "solved" it aids all, those seeking solutions and the helpers time, and keeps the forum tidier.
    interim method:
    Go to the first post in your thread. Click on "Edit Post". Now click on the orange "Go Advanced" button. In the advanced editor change the prefix to "SOLVED". Now click on the orange "Save Changes" button.

    best regards
    THE current(cy) in Documentation:
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/PopularPages

    Happy ubuntu'n !

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Beans
    436
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: "[init] database is locked" when starting app

    thanks again - you know, I was just going to post again asking how on earth am I supposed to mark the issue as solved I could swear it was under thread tools not a long time ago....

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    ozarks, Arkansas, USA
    Beans
    10,778
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: "[init] database is locked" when starting app

    kurja;
    solved: Our mods are working on it to make it so once again.

    Take care and my regards
    THE current(cy) in Documentation:
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/PopularPages

    Happy ubuntu'n !

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •