Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Getting Alfa WUS036NHR to Work

Beans

Getting Alfa WUS036NHR to Work

HI! I just got an Alfa WUS035NHR afdapter. I dual boot with xp and ubuntu 12.04. I'm new at linux and I'm learning ubuntu. I plugged the card in, and put the cd in in xp. No problems. I noticed during installation that it had a linux option. Rebooted went to ubuntu, put in disk, and nothing. So I accessed the disk in file manager and clicked in autorun and received a meaage from the archive manager that it couldn't unzip the file(s). It's then that I realized exe files don't work in linux. So I went to this site
    http://store.rokland.com/blogs/featured ... 36nhr-is-b
    and tried to install it from the directions. I unzipped the downloaded file, started a terminal, and tried to navigate to the file. I attached a screnshot of what I dud in the terminal. Here's a list of the file.

Alfa
    RTL8192CU_8188CUS_8188CE-VAU_linux_v3.0.2164.20010715 which contains:
    android_refernce_codes
    document
    driver
    wpa_supplicant_hostapd
    install.sh
    readme.txt
    ReleaseNotes.doc
    I opened the driver directory and evtracted rtl8192_8188CU_linux_v3.0.2164.20010715 .tar.gz into the same directory.
    rtl8192_8188CU_linux_v3.0.2164.20010715
    core
    hal
    include
    os_dep
    autoconf_rtl8192c_lusb_linux.h
    clean
    ifcfg_wlan0
    Kconfig
    MakeFile
    runwpa
    wlan0dhcp
    What am I missing? I think I've tried every variation of typing in the path. Should I have not extracted rtl8192_8188CU_linux_v3.0.2164.20010715 .tar.gz? Any and all responses will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 15.04 Vivid Vervet

Re: Getting Alfa WUS036NHR to Work

Generally, the files included on the accompanying CD are too old by the time it's manufactured, shipped, sold and opened by the consumer. However, Ubuntu 12.04 is a bit older as well, so let's give it a try.