Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 43

Thread: Installing website

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    53

    Re: Installing website

    done

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    53

    Re: Installing website

    Heres what my host said, 2 replys

    I can't just install a new OS template on a whim. It has to be tested for functionality. The other version of Ubuntu are not "out of date" same as CentOS 5.x and CentOS 6.x are not upgrade version. They are completely separate versions from each other and plenty of people don't go to new version. I will look at getting the 12.04 loaded, but its not going to be available for a little while
    then

    I have update the 12.04 templates since I already had those loaded, and could just put the non-beta ones on.

    You should be able to do a reinstall of the 12.04 64 bit and be on the non-beta version
    my question now is, second message seem correct?


    edit doesnt seem to be working, tryed to install says 0 out of 0 memory used.

    dam i put this weekend aside to get all this done, i expected some set backs as a newbie but didnt expect this one
    Last edited by Joe67; April 6th, 2013 at 09:22 AM.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    53

    Re: Installing website

    guys i have a problem i installed the 12.04 on the vps controll pannel like id with any other os. this time it says memory 0 of 0 Used / 0 Free

    after telling me

    have update the 12.04 templates since I already had those loaded, and could just put the non-beta ones on.

    You should be able to do a reinstall of the 12.04 64 bit and be on the non-beta version
    they are now saying

    That's the 12.04 version you sent us a link to and wanted.....
    You can always use another version, and run updates on it after its loaded.
    i sent the link you guys said they should install

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    53

    Re: Installing website

    ok they removed the vps, made a new one and its working now i believe.


    sudo apt-get install lamp-server^ doesnt work


    sudo: apt-get: command not found

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    53

    sudo apt-get install lamp-server^ doesnt work

    Ive split this from another thread as the thread got abit messed up, i hope the mods dont mind.

    am trying to use

    sudo apt-get install lamp-server^ on putty but get the message sudo: apt-get: command not found

    can anyone help? ive alot to do and little time

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    6,187

    Re: sudo apt-get install lamp-server^ doesnt work

    Hmm sounds like your apt package itself is messed up - what does

    Code:
     dpkg -l | grep -w apt
    say? what about

    Code:
    echo $PATH
    which apt-get

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Reykjavík, Ísland
    Beans
    10,626
    Distro
    Lubuntu 15.04 Vivid Vervet

    Re: sudo apt-get install lamp-server^ doesnt work

    Merged

    Quote Originally Posted by Joe67 View Post
    Ive split this from another thread as the thread got abit messed up, i hope the mods dont mind.
    You had a hunch that this was not the preferred way, hadn't you?
    About problems due to upgrading
    Bringing old hardware back to life.
    Please visit Quick Links -> Unanswered Posts

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    53

    Re: Installing website

    Quote Originally Posted by steeldriver View Post
    Hmm sounds like your apt package itself is messed up - what does

    Code:
     dpkg -l | grep -w apt
    say? what about

    Code:
    echo $PATH
    which apt-get

    root@vpsserver [~]# dpkg -l | grep -w apt
    -bash: dpkg: command not found
    root@vpsserver [~]# echo $PATH
    /usr/local/jdk/bin:/usr/kerberos/sbin:/usr/kerberos/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/sbin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/root/bin
    root@vpsserver [~]# which apt-get



    yes mörgæs, sorry about that. am up against it and was looking for help asap

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    6,187

    Re: Installing website

    well that's not good - the PATH seems OK, so either the binaries are gone or not executable or maybe there's a library problem - let's see

    Code:
    ls -l /usr/bin/dpkg
    ldd /usr/bin/dpkg
    Let's also see what kind of system you are running

    Code:
    uname -a

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Beans
    53

    Re: Installing website

    Quote Originally Posted by steeldriver View Post
    well that's not good - the PATH seems OK, so either the binaries are gone or not executable or maybe there's a library problem - let's see

    Code:
    ls -l /usr/bin/dpkg
    ldd /usr/bin/dpkg
    Let's also see what kind of system you are running

    Code:
    uname -a

    root@vpsserver [~]# ls -l /usr/bin/dpkg
    /bin/ls: /usr/bin/dpkg: No such file or directory
    root@vpsserver [~]# ldd /usr/bin/dpkg
    ldd: /usr/bin/dpkg: No such file or directory
    root@vpsserver [~]# uname -a
    Linux .(removed).com 2.6.18-274.7.1.el5.028stab095.1 #1 SMP Mon Oct 24 20:49:24 MSD 2011 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux


    could this problem be related to how host my host installed 12.04

    have update the 12.04 templates since I already had those loaded, and could just put the non-beta ones on.

    You should be able to do a reinstall of the 12.04 64 bit and be on the non-beta version
    Last edited by Joe67; April 6th, 2013 at 06:34 PM.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •