Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: How Come NO Mention of PAE issue

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Beans
    77

    Unhappy How Come NO Mention of PAE issue

    Dear Gentlepeople,

    A year later I decide to check to see if a new relaese of UbuntuStudio is available, as 12.04 would not work on most computers due to the PAE issue. I find it extremely annoying that in the welcome and download page, in fact nowhere do I see mention that you must have a newer computer with CPU capable of PAE (whatever that is). No mention whatsoever, that without PAE capability in your computer, you can forget about Ubuntu or any "flavor" of it.

    What say You? Am I wrong?

    Will Ubuntu or UbuntuStudio v12+ or v.13+ work with a non-PAE capable CPU? If no, then there should be a NOTICE TO ALL regarding this issue on all download pages. The NOTICE should also mention, What PAE means / is and which last stable version you can use with those computers.

    We Need To Know!

    Thanks,
    hbnmgr
    Last edited by hbnmgr; April 8th, 2013 at 02:27 PM. Reason: Solved

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Ayrshire
    Beans
    39,979
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: How Come NO Mention of PAE issue

    Quote Originally Posted by hbnmgr View Post
    I find it extremely annoying that in the welcome and download page, in fact nowhere do I see mention that you must have a newer computer with CPU capable of PAE (whatever that is). No mention whatsoever, that without PAE capability in your computer, you can forget about Ubuntu or any "flavor" of it.hbnmgr
    Can't find the release notes ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    The New Forest
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    EU - UK
    Beans
    3,318
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: How Come NO Mention of PAE issue

    Quote Originally Posted by hbnmgr View Post
    Dear Gentlepeople,

    A year later I decide to check to see if a new relaese of UbuntuStudio is available, as 12.04 would not work on most computers due to the PAE issue. I find it extremely annoying that in the welcome and download page, in fact nowhere do I see mention that you must have a newer computer with CPU capable of PAE (whatever that is). No mention whatsoever, that without PAE capability in your computer, you can forget about Ubuntu or any "flavor" of it.

    What say You? Am I wrong?
    Yes, you are. Even Pentium 2s have PAE support. PAE was introduced in 1995, so it's not something new.

    Quote Originally Posted by hbnmgr View Post
    Will Ubuntu or UbuntuStudio v12+ or v.13+ work with a non-PAE capable CPU? If no, then there should be a NOTICE TO ALL regarding this issue on all download pages. The NOTICE should also mention, What PAE means / is and which last stable version you can use with those computers.
    Only a very small number of Pentium M CPUs lack PAE support, so there is not need to put anything on the download page, in my opinion.

    Hope that helps.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Beans
    77

    Re: How Come NO Mention of PAE issue

    Apparently 'kostkon', 'elfy', and 'howefield' are not aware of the depth of this issue. It is not a bug, and yes I found the Release Notes and nothing mentioned about the PAE issue.

    Here are some links regarding this issue.


    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...9#post12089249

    How to Install v12.04 on Non PAE capable system
    http://www.webupd8.org/2012/05/how-t...n-non-pae.html

    Index - Non PAE
    http://people.canonical.com/~diwic/12.04-nonpae/

    Kernel REQUIRES PAE - Unable to Boot
    I think JerryLamos has the right idea in this thread
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1959675

    How to Non PAE issue
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1951653

    Realese Notes
    Under NEW FEATURES of v12.10

    Kernel 3.5.5
    Transitioning of the i386 generic-pae flavor to become the generic flavor offering
    What does that mean?
    My CPU is AMD about 1.5Ghz.

    hbnmgr

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    1,134
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio

    Re: How Come NO Mention of PAE issue

    Give
    Code:
    cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep name

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Reykjavík, Ísland
    Beans
    9,476
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: How Come NO Mention of PAE issue

    Quote Originally Posted by hbnmgr View Post
    My CPU is AMD about 1.5Ghz.
    Then you are not affected by the PAE 'problem'.
    If you had one of the Pentium M's (400 MHz front side bus) then Fake-PAE might help.
    Last edited by mörgæs; April 5th, 2013 at 10:55 PM. Reason: Fake-PAE added.
    About problems due to upgrading
    Bringing old hardware back to life.
    Please visit Quick Links -> Unanswered Posts

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Beans
    77

    Re: How Come NO Mention of PAE issue

    Attempting to Upgrade to Ubuntu Studio v12.04 with DVD and get this message.

    "This kernel requires the following features not present on the CPU:
    pae
    Unable to boot - please use a kernel appropriate for your CPU."

    Have Toshiba Satellite S114.

    Quote Originally Posted by jejeman View Post
    Give
    Code:
    cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep name
    model name : Intel(R) Celeron(R) M Processor 1.3 Ghz
    Last edited by hbnmgr; April 6th, 2013 at 12:56 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago Suburbs
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: How Come NO Mention of PAE issue

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1951653
    Ubuntu, Kubuntu, and probably Edubuntu will ship with the PAE kernel in 12.04, but both Lubuntu and Xubuntu will ship with non-pae

    How To Install Ubuntu 12.04 On Non-PAE Capable Hardware.
    http://www.webupd8.org/2012/05/how-t...-pae.html#more
    To see processor
    lscpu
    grep --color=always -i PAE /proc/cpuinfo

    But the issue is, if system does not have PAE, it really does not have the capability to run full Ubuntu anymore. Ubuntu is a full featured systems and requires a lot of resources. It does run just fine on my 6 year old system as I have enough RAM. But many systems even with PAE, may not have enough RAM to run Ubuntu. Then you can run Xubuntu or more likely Lubuntu.

    Code:
    fred@fred-Precise:~$ grep --color=always -i PAE /proc/cpuinfo
    flags        : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl aperfmperf pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm lahf_lm dtherm tpr_shadow
    flags        : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl aperfmperf pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm lahf_lm dtherm tpr_shadow
    For info on UEFI boot install & repair:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to close thread when/if answered completely.







  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    EU - UK
    Beans
    3,318
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: How Come NO Mention of PAE issue

    Quote Originally Posted by hbnmgr View Post
    model name : Intel(R) Celeron(R) M Processor 1.3 Ghz
    So, your CPU is indeed a Pentium M that lacks PAE support.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •