Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need help with dual booting Puppy Linux alongside Ubuntu 12.04

Beans

Need help with dual booting Puppy Linux alongside Ubuntu 12.04

Okay, so I have been crawling around the forums for days now trying to find a solution to my problem. It should be noted I am fairly new to linux and will need step by step noob instructions most likely. If you need any more information from me, don't hesitate to ask. I have 2 partitions set on my rather small hdd. 4gb set for Puppy Linux at /dev/sda3 (ext3) and my main partition has Ubuntu installed /dev/sda1 (ext4). I am having trouble dual booting with puppy linux. I have installed Puppy Linux on the partitoin sda3 with a usb boot disk I created with unetbootin. After referring to this article:http://blog.kreatx.com/2011/12/16/du...x-with-ubuntu/ I followed all the steps (although had some issues with vim so i just manually edited the files) and have messed with my grub file in /boot/grub/grub.cfg (mostly changing the lines concerning Puppy Linux, changing the (hdo,msdos1) to match the lines with the msdosX to ubuntu's like the article mentioned to do) Now when I boot up I want to have the option to go into ubuntu or puppy linux, however, when I try to do this I get a message that says error: file not found, error:you need to load the kernel first. Can someone give me step-by-step instructions of what I need to edited in the /boot/grub/grub.cfg file or /etc/grub.d/07_Puppy file in order to allow me to choose whether to boot ubuntu or puppy linux at start-up?

Here is /boot/grub/grub.cfg:

Code:
    #
    # DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
    #
    # It is automatically generated by grub-mkconfig using templates
    # from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
    #

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
    if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
      set have_grubenv=true
      load_env
    fi
    set default="0"
    if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
      set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"