Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Is QDBus broken?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,868
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Is QDBus broken?

    Anyone else having problems with QDBus, in Raring

    I keep getting this error:

    Code:
    qdbus: could not find a Qt installation of ''
    UbuntuUpdates says:

    Package "qdbus"

    Name: qdbus

    Description:
    Qt 4 D-Bus tool

    Latest version: 4:4.8.4+dfsg-0ubuntu9
    Release: raring (13.04)
    Level: base
    Repository: main
    Head package: qt4-x11
    Homepage: http://qt-project.org/
    Installed version:

    Code:
    vindsl@Zuul:~$ apt-cache policy qdbus
    qdbus:
      Installed: 4:4.8.4+dfsg-0ubuntu9
      Candidate: 4:4.8.4+dfsg-0ubuntu9
    Last edited by VinDSL; March 31st, 2013 at 07:06 AM. Reason: Marked as solved
    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    13,421

    Re: Is QDBus broken?

    Where might one be seeing such message?

    Whatever it is qdbus might be doing here unseen it appears to be fine.
    If I take a service I know of, (org.mpris.MediaPlayer2.<whatever>) & a path, (/org/mpris/MediaPlayer2) with an appropriate arg. it works fine. (in this case meaning player open with something in playlist
    Ex.'s
    Code:
    qdbus org.mpris.MediaPlayer2.vlc /org/mpris/MediaPlayer2 org.mpris.MediaPlayer2.Player.PlayPause
    Code:
    qdbus org.mpris.MediaPlayer2.audacious /org/mpris/MediaPlayer2 org.mpris.MediaPlayer2.Player.PlayPause
    ect.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,868
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Is QDBus broken?

    Quote Originally Posted by mc4man View Post
    Where might one be seeing such message?
    I'm using it to extract Guayadeque titles for Conky. I have other ways of extracting titles, but QDBus has been working flawlessly for me, for at least a year. It just quit working, a couple of days ago.

    I was interested in seeing if anyone else was having problems with QDBus, or more precisely, if anyone else was even using it... LoL!

    Evidently, it's working for you, which is encouraging.

    In order to provide some context, using your first example, let's crank up Icecast via VLC.

    Here's what I'm seeing on my rig...

    Code:
    vindsl@Zuul:~$ vlc
    VLC media player 2.0.5 Twoflower (revision 2.0.5-0-g1661b7d)
    [0x9940908] main libvlc: Running vlc with the default interface. Use 'cvlc' to use vlc without interface.
    [0xafd98698] access_http access: Raw-audio server found, m4a demuxer selected
    [0xafd9bd80] packetizer_mpeg4audio demux packetizer: AAC channels: 1 samplerate: 22050
    So far, so good. Now let's try pausing the playback...

    Code:
    vindsl@Zuul:~$ qdbus org.mpris.MediaPlayer2.vlc /org/mpris/MediaPlayer2 org.mpris.MediaPlayer2.Player.PlayPause
    qdbus: could not find a Qt installation of ''
    vindsl@Zuul:~$
    Nuttin' honey!
    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,868
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Is QDBus broken?

    w00t! Think I figured it out.

    I just installed the Qt5 'ubuntu-sdk' and the QDBus error went away.

    Link: https://launchpad.net/~canonical-qt5...ive/qt5-proper

    Maybe Qt5 is being used now. Here's the output...

    Code:
    vindsl@Zuul:~$ qdbus
    :1.1
     org.a11y.Bus
    :1.10
     org.freedesktop.ScreenSaver
     org.gnome.SettingsDaemon
     org.gnome.SettingsDaemon.Power
     org.gnome.SettingsDaemon.XRANDR
    :1.11
     org.PulseAudio1
     org.freedesktop.ReserveDevice1.Audio0
     org.pulseaudio.Server
    :1.114
    :1.115
    :1.116
    :1.12
     org.freedesktop.secrets
     org.gnome.keyring
    :1.122
    :1.123
    :1.125
     com.ubuntu.OneConf
    :1.126
    :1.13
     org.freedesktop.Notifications
     org.gnome.Caribou.Keyboard
     org.gnome.Magnifier
     org.gnome.Panel
     org.gnome.ScreenSaver
     org.gnome.Shell
     org.gnome.Shell.Screenshot
     org.gnome.keyring.SystemPrompter
     org.gtk.MountOperationHandler
    :1.137
     org.gnome.Terminal
    :1.138
    :1.14
    :1.15
     ca.desrt.dconf
    :1.16
     org.freedesktop.Telepathy.Client.GnomeShell._3a1_2e16.n0
    :1.17
     org.gnome.Shell.CalendarServer
    :1.18
     org.gnome.evolution.dataserver.Sources1
    :1.19
    :1.2
    :1.20
     org.freedesktop.Telepathy.AccountManager
     org.freedesktop.Telepathy.ChannelDispatcher
     org.freedesktop.Telepathy.MissionControl5
    :1.21
    :1.22
     org.gnome.Identity
     org.gnome.OnlineAccounts
    :1.24
     org.gtk.Private.UDisks2VolumeMonitor
    :1.25
     org.gtk.Private.AfcVolumeMonitor
    :1.26
     org.gtk.Private.MTPVolumeMonitor
    :1.27
     org.gtk.Private.GPhoto2VolumeMonitor
    :1.29
     org.gnome.GConf
    :1.31
     org.gnome.Bluetooth.applet
    :1.32
     org.gnome.zeitgeist.datahub
    :1.33
     org.gnome.zeitgeist.Engine
    :1.35
     org.freedesktop.Tracker1.Miner.Applications
     org.freedesktop.Tracker1.Miner.Files
     org.freedesktop.Tracker1.Miner.Files.Index
    :1.36
    :1.37
     org.freedesktop.Tracker1
    :1.39
     org.freedesktop.FileManager1
     org.gnome.Nautilus
     org.gnome.Nautilus.SearchProvider
    :1.4
     org.gtk.vfs.Daemon
    :1.41
    :1.42
     com.canonical.Unity
     net.launchpad.plank.dock1
    :1.43
     org.gnome.DejaDup.Monitor
    :1.44
     org.gnome.network_manager_applet
    :1.47
     org.gnome.EvolutionAlarmNotify
    :1.48
    :1.5
    :1.50
     org.gnome.zeitgeist.SimpleIndexer
    :1.51
     org.ayatana.bamf
    :1.52
     org.freedesktop.Telepathy.Client.Zeitgeist
    :1.57
    :1.58
     org.gnome.evolution.dataserver.AddressBook5
    :1.6
    :1.61
    :1.62
     org.gnome.evolution.dataserver.Calendar4
    :1.65
    :1.67
    :1.7
     org.gnome.SessionManager
    :1.71
    :1.72
    :1.73
     com.ubuntuone.SyncDaemon
    :1.74
    :1.78
    :1.80
    :1.81
    :1.88
    :1.89
    :1.9
    :1.98
     org.freedesktop.Telepathy.Client.Logger
     org.freedesktop.Telepathy.Logger
    :1.99
    org.freedesktop.DBus
    vindsl@Zuul:~$
    Was just getting the error dialog before.
    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,868
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Is QDBus broken?

    Bingo!




    Thanks!

    Takes a village...
    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,868
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Is QDBus broken?

    Oh, BTW...

    Here's a sample of the CLI output (listening to Puls' Radio right now)

    Code:
    vindsl@Zuul:~$ qdbus org.mpris.guayadeque /\Player org.freedesktop.MediaPlayer.GetMetadata | grep title | cut -f2- -d" "
    Triotonic (Extended Mix)
    vindsl@Zuul:~$
    Conky code looks like this (provides scrolling for long names)

    Code:
    ##################################
    ##   GUAYADEQUE (Experimental)  ##
    ##################################
    ${if_running guayadeque}
    ${voffset -33}${font DroidSans:bold:size=8}${color4}GUAYADEQUE${offset 8}${color6}${voffset -2}${hr 1}${font}
    ${voffset 4}${font DroidSans:size=8.25}${color3}${if_match "${execpi 2 expr length "`qdbus org.mpris.guayadeque /\Player org.freedesktop.MediaPlayer.GetMetadata | grep title | cut -f2- -d" "`"}" >= "48"}${alignr 15}${scroll 38 4* ${execi 2 qdbus org.mpris.guayadeque /\Player org.freedesktop.MediaPlayer.GetMetadata | grep title | cut -f2- -d" "}}${font}${else}${alignc}${execi 2 qdbus org.mpris.guayadeque /\Player org.freedesktop.MediaPlayer.GetMetadata | grep title | cut -f2- -d" "}${font}${endif}${endif}
    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,868
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Is QDBus broken?

    Quote Originally Posted by mc4man View Post
    If I take a service I know of, (org.mpris.MediaPlayer2.<whatever>) & a path, (/org/mpris/MediaPlayer2) with an appropriate arg. it works fine.[...]
    Finally got VLC working with QDBus/MPRIS.

    Had to upgrade to the 2.1.0-git version. Is that what you're running?!?!?

    Just curious...

    Heh! VLC 2.1.0 is nice! Didn't know what I was missing.


    Openbox/LXDE

    Last edited by VinDSL; April 1st, 2013 at 03:51 AM. Reason: Addendum
    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    13,421

    Re: Is QDBus broken?

    Quote Originally Posted by VinDSL View Post
    Finally got VLC working with QDBus/MPRIS.

    Had to upgrade to the 2.1.0-git version. Is that what you're running?!?!?
    While I normally would use the git dev version, as of late have just been installing what's in the repo (lazy I guess

    As far as vlc with mpris - that's been working for quite some, as in soundmenu (& the qdbus commands ), in the soundmenu since 11.04 or so. (lost track, though it's needed a small trick or 2 at times to get going

    Maybe you mean in some VinDSL special use???

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,868
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Is QDBus broken?

    Quote Originally Posted by mc4man View Post
    Maybe you mean in some VinDSL special use???
    That's undoubtedly part of it. This poor box has turned into Frankenstein's Monster. LoL!

    Qt5 took care of the Guayadeque QDBus error, but...

    I tried your MPRIS example tonight. It still wasn't working / left me scratching my head.

    I was getting a "org.mpris.MediaPlayer2 doesn't exist" (or similar) QDBus error.

    Doing some Google forensics, I ran across a Q&A blog that suggested installing the VLC "master-daily" dev branch.

    And, sure enough, it worked a treat (on this machine)
    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •