Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Questions about installing/dual booting Ubuntu 12.10 on a second hard drive

Beans

Question Questions about installing/dual booting Ubuntu 12.10 on a second hard drive

Summary:
    -How do I set up partitions a second hard drive so both Windows and Ubuntu can use it?
    -Is it OK to have multiple filesystems on the same drive by using different partitions?

Some Background Info:

I'm new to Linux, haven't installed anything yet, and already I have questions. Recently I saw that I was running low on space on my desktop PC's (500 gigabyte) internal hard drive so I purchased an extra (1 terabyte) internal hard drive. I've been curious about Linux so I thought about installing Ubuntu on my new drive while having Windows 7 remain installed on my first hard drive, allowing me to dual-boot. But I still want to be able to access the files on the second drive in windows (especially since I originally bought it to provide extra storage space for windows), which would not be possible if the entire 1 terabyte drive is formatted in the Ext4 filesystem that Ubuntu needs, which windows 7 can't use.

So I began wondering if it would be possible to have a both an NTFS partition on the new drive (for extra windows programs and files I want to be able to access in both OS like Music and Videos (since Ubuntu and Windows can both read NTFS)) and then the Ext4 partitions for Ubuntu on the same new drive.

The questions:
    -Is there any disadvantage to having multiple partitions with different filesystems on the same drive? Do I need to worry about file corruption somehow? Or is this actually a good idea?
    -Would it be better to re-install/move windows to the 1 TB drive and install Ubuntu on the old 500 GB drive? That way they each have their own hard drives. (And no, before anyone asks, using the entire 1 Terabyte drive just for Ubuntu is not currently an option.)

The plan: