Thread: Software update un-installed things.

Beans

Software update un-installed things.

Hello. I'm fairly new to Ubuntu, although I've had plenty of experience dealing with programs and computers as a programmer. I switched to Ubuntu yesterday, as I don't like Microsoft and prefer open-source software. Took me a while to get hand of things and install my graphics card drivers etc, but I had it all done after looking up a few basic commands.

Now today, I got software patch notification, so I decided to update. Turns out the update somehow managed to un-install my graphics card driver and linux headers. I don't have a problem anymore, managed to install those again using the terminal ( As it wouldn't boot to anything else ). But my question would be, what could cause this to happen and is there anything I should be aware of? I don't think programs/drivers should magically disappear after a software patch.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: Software update un-installed things.

Some more information about the patch my shed some light on what happened . If the patch was for non official software and there were conflicting dependecies it may account what happened. I have never recieved a patch for software in my Ubuntu experience only updates. What you describe can happen with partial upgrades, but this is uncommom uless you have enabled proposed updates or are testing a pre-release version.
    Infinite diversity in infinite combination.

Ubuntu Documentation Search: Popular Pages
    Ubuntu: Security Basics
    Ubuntu: Manual

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by Frogs Hair View Post