Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: dpkg: unrecoverable fatal error, aborting: files list file for package 'nautilus-sen

Hybrid View

Beans

dpkg: unrecoverable fatal error, aborting: files list file for package 'nautilus-sen

I am getting the error message: dpkg: unrecoverable fatal error, aborting:
    files list file for package 'nautilus-sendto-empathy' is missing final newline
    E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (2), when I try to upgrade, or download software. Since I upgraded from 12.04 to 12.10, I have continually received system error messages on-screen when I log in, though this is after I go on Firefox, and it may be a Firefox error. But I am unable to update any software ever since the upgrade. I have fiddled about a bit, and unticked some items in the software system settings. Now the error message I get is the one you see above.
    Would it be better if I reinstalled my good old 12.04? I am not very good with technology and need to be 'led'.
    Thanks for your thoughts.

C.

Beans
    Hidden!

Re: dpkg: unrecoverable fatal error, aborting: files list file for package 'nautilus

The error message indicates that file /var/lib/dpkg/info/nautilus-sendto-empathy.list is corrupt (missing final newline). This is how the file should look like. Besides the files listed on the linked page, it also should contains folders they are in and all directories above those in the path, i.e. /usr/share/doc, /usr/share, /usr, /usr/lib, /usr/lib/nautilus-sendto, etc. Compare this with what in the file on your system.
    Last edited by schragge; March 29th, 2013 at 03:35 PM.

Beans

Re: dpkg: unrecoverable fatal error, aborting: files list file for package 'nautilus

Thanks. But just HOW do I do this please?

Beans
    Hidden!

Open a terminal window (press Ctrl+Alt+t, or see community/UsingTheTerminal for detailed instructions), and run the commands below, then post their output here:
    Code:
    dpkg -l nautilus-sendto-empathy