Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Accessing a remote computer using Ubuntu 12.04?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Beans
    247
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Accessing a remote computer using Ubuntu 12.04?

    Hi,

    I'm using Ubuntu 12.04; Remmina and Vino is installed on my system. Now I want to access another remote computer (which is in different network and IP is not static).

    Is it possible to do that? If so, then how can I connect?

    I'd really appreciate any help from anyone. Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ubuntuland
    Beans
    2,117
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Accessing a remote computer using Ubuntu 12.04?

    Are the networks routeable? Do you know the address?

    Yes, it is possible.
    24 beers in a case, 24 hours in a day. Coincidence? I think not!

    Saucy Salamander 64 bit, AMD Phenom II 955 Quad Core 3.2GHz, GeForce 8300
    8G PC2-6400 RAM, 128 GB SSD, Twin 1TB SATA 7200 RPM RAID0

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Beans
    247
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Accessing a remote computer using Ubuntu 12.04?

    WOW!!! Really thanks for this prompt reply.

    Could you please clarify what do you mean by "routable"? I'm not very familiar with networking terms.

    Whatever, I'm on a wired network, have a static IP; but when I type on Google "what is my ip",it shows a different IP.

    Another computer is using a wireless connection (4G), and IP is not static.

    Hope this info can help you to understand the situation.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Beans
    13,503
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Accessing a remote computer using Ubuntu 12.04?

    Quote Originally Posted by uzumakifahim View Post
    WOW!!! Really thanks for this prompt reply.

    Could you please clarify what do you mean by "routable"? I'm not very familiar with networking terms.

    Whatever, I'm on a wired network, have a static IP; but when I type on Google "what is my ip",it shows a different IP.

    Another computer is using a wireless connection (4G), and IP is not static.
    Your IP is irrelevant, you just need to know the remote IP. You have to set up the network of the remote PC to allow traffic from the Internet through to the PC as required by the particular remote connection method you want to use.

    You should be able to search out detailed instructions for the router/firewall hardware of the remote network on how to do this.
    Regards, David.
    Please use the Forum search and Wiki search for immediate help
    Please mark your thread as Solved when appropriate.
    New to technical forums?: How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Beans
    247
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Accessing a remote computer using Ubuntu 12.04?

    @dcstar, Thanks for your clarification. Remote computer is using dynamic addressing, so I know the WAN IP address of that computer. Is that WAN IP address enough to connect to that computer? When I google "what is my ip" from that (remote) computer, it also shows me same IP address (WAN).

    Now please help me about the next step to connect.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Beans
    247
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Accessing a remote computer using Ubuntu 12.04?

    I understand that, to connect to a remote PC, I need to input the WAN address of that remote PC. No problem with that.

    Fact is that, there are more that 30 PC under that WAN address. So, how it'll find that specific remote computer between those 30 computers, that I need to connect?

    Please tell me details. I need this solution very badly.

    Thanks in advance.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    4,566

    Re: Accessing a remote computer using Ubuntu 12.04?

    that would be done by forwarding a port from the WAN side of the router to the specific remote computer on the LAN - the details will depend on your router but there is a fairly good general explanation here http://www.realvnc.com/support/portforward.html

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Beans
    247
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Accessing a remote computer using Ubuntu 12.04?

    Quote Originally Posted by steeldriver View Post
    that would be done by forwarding a port from the WAN side of the router to the specific remote computer on the LAN - the details will depend on your router but there is a fairly good general explanation here http://www.realvnc.com/support/portforward.html
    @steeldriver - OHHH!!! Really thanks. That means I can do this job without any proprietary solution. I can do this with Remmina or Vinagre and Vino. But I have keep in mind that points. Is that it?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Dhaka
    Beans
    247
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Accessing a remote computer using Ubuntu 12.04?

    I have read the all of that link, but I have two question

    1. In "Accessing more than one computer" section; how many port can I forward like this? Is there any limitation?
    2. It seems it's working for static IPs, but what about Non-static (Dynamic IP)?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ubuntuland
    Beans
    2,117
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Lightbulb Re: Accessing a remote computer using Ubuntu 12.04?

    Quote Originally Posted by uzumakifahim View Post
    I have read the all of that link, but I have two question

    1. In "Accessing more than one computer" section; how many port can I forward like this? Is there any limitation?
    2. It seems it's working for static IPs, but what about Non-static (Dynamic IP)?
    Computer networks are not magic, they use very well defined protocols. If you can find the IP using DNS, they you're good to go. If not, then you might have a problem.

    How about a description of the network that you are trying to use? That would help immensely. It's a little hard to answer these types of questions without some details.
    24 beers in a case, 24 hours in a day. Coincidence? I think not!

    Saucy Salamander 64 bit, AMD Phenom II 955 Quad Core 3.2GHz, GeForce 8300
    8G PC2-6400 RAM, 128 GB SSD, Twin 1TB SATA 7200 RPM RAID0

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •