Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: 10.10 Can't Access Internet

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    JAKARTA
    Beans
    14
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Question 10.10 Can't Access Internet

    Hello,

    This is just plain weird, it use to have access to internet and now it doesn't.

    It can ping the local network and I could ssh into it, even through internet using it's public IP.

    Here's the /etc/network/interface:
    Code:
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    auto eth4
    iface eth4 inet manual
    
    auto br0
    iface br0 inet static
       address 192.168.40.14
       netmask 255.255.255.0
       network 192.168.40.0
       broadcast 192.168.40.255
       gateway 192.168.40.1
       bridge_ports eth4
       bridge_stp off
       bridge_fd 0
       bridge_maxwait 0
       dns-nameservers 192.168.40.11
    
    auto eth2
    iface eth2 inet static
       address 192.168.20.12
       netmask 255.255.255.0
    If I try to ping let's say google.com, it could resolve the IP address but that's about it.

    Before it gave me the postfix error when I restarted networking service, but I just remove postfix since I don't need to send emails from it.

    Could anyone enlightened me.

    Thank you
    Last edited by c24ck32; March 28th, 2013 at 09:32 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    ::1
    Beans
    2,481

    Re: 10.10 Can't Access Internet

    Ubuntu 10.10? That's not supported anymore since April last year.

    And: why don't you use DHCP?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    JAKARTA
    Beans
    14
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: 10.10 Can't Access Internet

    Hi sanderj,

    Thank you for looking at my thread.

    I know that 10.10 is not supported anymore but what I'm asking is why it is not working for something that has been working before..

    And I used DHCP for users computer, this one is suppose to be the NAS-SERver and I have to use different IP for the different sub-network as you can see in my /etc/network/interfaces

    I would like to upgrade to 12.04, I just don't have the time right now, and looking for an answer to my question..

    Thank you

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    ::1
    Beans
    2,481

    Re: 10.10 Can't Access Internet

    What did you research yourself?

    can you ping local IP addresses?

    What's the output of

    Code:
    mtr -nrc2 8.8.8.8

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    JAKARTA
    Beans
    14
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: 10.10 Can't Access Internet

    Hello again sanderj

    I can ping any local IP addresses
    Code:
    mtr -nrc2 8.8.8.8
    
    HOST: nas-server                  Loss%   Snt   Last   Avg  Best  Wrst StDev
      1. 192.168.40.1                  0.0%     2    2.1  82.9   2.1 163.7 114.3
      2. 192.168.40.2                  0.0%     2    4.6   3.5   2.5   4.6   1.5
      3. ???                          100.0     2    0.0   0.0   0.0   0.0   0.0
    It seems that I can't get pass the router, which any other machine can, and I have another server that has the same configuration and it works fine.

    Any other suggestion?

    I'm not an expert on networking, but I always wanted to learn more.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    ::1
    Beans
    2,481

    Re: 10.10 Can't Access Internet

    And on the functional machines: what's the output of "mtr -nrc2 8.8.8.8"?

    Why is 192.168.40.1 sending to 192.168.40.2?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    JAKARTA
    Beans
    14
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: 10.10 Can't Access Internet

    This is mtr -nrc2 8.8.8.8 from the functional machine
    Code:
    user@OM:~$ mtr -nrc2 8.8.8.8
    HOST: OM                          Loss%   Snt   Last   Avg  Best  Wrst StDev
      1.|-- 192.168.40.1               0.0%     2    4.1  82.9   4.1 161.7 111.4
      2.|-- 192.168.40.2               0.0%     2    0.1   0.2   0.1   0.2   0.0
      3.|-- 203.77.224.65              0.0%     2    0.6   0.7   0.6   0.8   0.1
      4.|-- 203.77.236.129             0.0%     2    1.7   1.8   1.7   2.0   0.2
      5.|-- 203.77.227.33              0.0%     2    2.2   2.2   2.2   2.2   0.0
      6.|-- 203.77.227.14              0.0%     2    4.6   4.5   4.4   4.6   0.1
      7.|-- 119.110.117.1              0.0%     2    6.1  14.7   6.1  23.2  12.1
      8.|-- 119.110.116.134            0.0%     2   24.3  26.0  24.3  27.8   2.5
      9.|-- 66.249.95.122              0.0%     2   26.8  24.6  22.5  26.8   3.0
     10.|-- 209.85.242.243             0.0%     2   24.3  32.4  24.3  40.6  11.5
     11.|-- 209.85.250.255             0.0%     2   29.8  40.2  29.8  50.6  14.7
     12.|-- ???                       100.0     2    0.0   0.0   0.0   0.0   0.0
     13.|-- 8.8.8.8                    0.0%     2   31.5  32.0  31.5  32.6   0.8
    I used 192.168.40.1 as the gateway and 192.168.40.2 is the router

    To make internet connection on ubuntu what files that I have to check?

    I could think of:
    - /etc/network/interfaces
    - /etc/hosts
    - /etc/resolv.conf

    Is there any config files that I have to check?

    Thanks,

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    ::1
    Beans
    2,481

    Re: 10.10 Can't Access Internet

    Back to the basics:

    Switch the NAS device to DHCP-client, reboot, see if Internet works.

    Based on the result, you can proceed your analysis.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Not heaven... Iowa
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: 10.10 Can't Access Internet

    Code:
    dns-nameservers 192.168.40.11
    This machine is online?
    I'm not familiar w/ mtr, but don't see .11 in the lists.
    Linux User #415691 Ubuntu User #8629
    Iowa Team (LoCo): [Wiki] [Launchpad]
    IRC channel: #ubuntu-us-ia on irc.freenode.net

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    JAKARTA
    Beans
    14
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: 10.10 Can't Access Internet

    Quote Originally Posted by sanderj View Post
    Back to the basics:

    Switch the NAS device to DHCP-client, reboot, see if Internet works.

    Based on the result, you can proceed your analysis.
    I can't do that right now, the NAS is being used by the users.

    Oh I forgot to mention at the beginning, I use bridge settings because I use the server to run KVMs, surprisingly the Ubuntu on the KVM could connect to internet.

    If I switch the NAS-server to use DHCP then I would lost the ability to bridge the connection to the KVM, wouldn't I?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •