Page 13 of 16 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 ... LastLast
Results 121 to 130 of 158

Thread: I have as of yet to see my desktop

  1. #121
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    410
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: I have as of yet to see my desktop

    Do you know on which hard disk partition you installed Ubuntu? I recall that something you posted showed swap on sda5 (I'm wondering why) but I don't think you posted anything about the location of /. You'll have to determine that before going any further. I don't have a Ubuntu live cd handy so I don't know if you can immediately see that (in Nautllus for example). If not, you can run fdisk. In a terminal window:
    Code:
    sudo su
    fdisk /dev/sda
    and then in response to fdisk's prompt, just press p <enter> and you should be able to see which /dev your Ubuntu is installed on. Then press q <enter> to quit fdisk.

    Then, still in the same terminal (ASSUMING that Ubuntu is on sda1; otherwise change this accordingly)
    Code:
    TARGET=/media/sda1
    mkdir -p $TARGET
    mount /dev/sda1 $TARGET
    mount --bind /dev     $TARGET/dev
    mount --bind /proc    $TARGET/proc
    mount --bind /sys     $TARGET/sys
    chroot $TARGET /bin/bash
    (I hope I got all of that right.)
    Don't close the terminal.
    If all went well you should now be in your Ubuntu. Try to verify that by listing the files, e.g., ls /home/[your username], or ls /boot, and look at the filenames, dates, etc., to verify that you're looking at your Ubuntu and not the live cd.

    Now you can try to uninstall that amd64-microcode:
    Code:
    apt-get remove amd64-microcode
    Then exit the chroot:
    Code:
    exit
    umount  $TARGET/dev
    umount  $TARGET/proc
    umount  $TARGET/sys
    umount $TARGET
    reboot
    Remove the cd and hopefully you'll be able to reboot without it.

  2. #122
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Texas
    Beans
    89
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: I have as of yet to see my desktop

    The fdisk listed it as being in /dev/sda1

    Now the second set of code you gave me I ran, and it gave me:
    Code:
    chroot: cannot change root directory to /media/sda1: No such file or directory
    I am going to go back over it to be sure but I am certain that I had put everything in proper.

  3. #123
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Texas
    Beans
    89
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: I have as of yet to see my desktop

    I am not seeing any issues in what I put into terminal in comparison to what you gave me. So maybe I am doing something wrong?

    Code:
    TARGET=/media/sda1
    mkdir -p $TARGET
    mount /dev/sda1 $TARGET
    mount --bind /dev     $TARGET/dev
    mount --bind /proc    $TARGET/proc
    mount --bind /sys     $TARGET/sys
    chroot $TARGET /bin/bash
    I typed that all out in text editor then copy pasted it into terminal and hit enter. Should I be doing each line individualy?

  4. #124
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    /dev/root
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: I have as of yet to see my desktop

    Quote Originally Posted by Mecharius View Post
    I am not seeing any issues in what I put into terminal in comparison to what you gave me. So maybe I am doing something wrong?

    Code:
    TARGET=/media/sda1
    mkdir -p $TARGET
    mount /dev/sda1 $TARGET
    mount --bind /dev     $TARGET/dev
    mount --bind /proc    $TARGET/proc
    mount --bind /sys     $TARGET/sys
    chroot $TARGET /bin/bash
    I typed that all out in text editor then copy pasted it into terminal and hit enter. Should I be doing each line individualy?
    It is possible to do like you did, but I suggest that you create a file with that content (write it to a file with a suitable name filename) and those commands will be saved in a shell-script file.

    Then run the file with the following command
    Code:
    bash filename

  5. #125
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Texas
    Beans
    89
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: I have as of yet to see my desktop

    I shall try that now.

  6. #126
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    410
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: I have as of yet to see my desktop

    I did expect you to run each command (line) individually. That way you would be sure to see any error messages that might appear. But if you copied everything correctly I see no reason why copy/pasting all the lines shouldn't work. sudodus' method should work as well.

    I suspect that you overlooked the part of post #121 that says "Then, still in the same terminal ..." If you are not the superuser, you will fail at mkdir -p $TARGET because an ordinary user lacks write permission to /media, and you probably didn't see that error message because of running all the commands together.

    You must run
    Code:
    sudo su
    at the beginning of the terminal session in which you want to chroot. Then you can copy/paste each line individually or all together or in a file and it should work. But if you're retyping be sure you get the spaces right. No spaces at all in the first line.
    TARGET=/media/sda1
    Then:
    mkdir[space] -p[space] $TARGET
    mount[space] /dev/sda1[space] $TARGET
    mount[space] --bind[space] /dev[space] $TARGET/dev
    mount[space] --bind[space] /proc[space] $TARGET/proc
    mount[space] --bind /sys[space] $TARGET/sys
    chroot[space] $TARGET[space] /bin/bash

    Obviously, don't type "[space]".

    On the three lines where I used multiple spaces to align $TARGET, that was just for esthetics. A single space for each of them would be fine.

  7. #127
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Texas
    Beans
    89
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: I have as of yet to see my desktop

    Yes, you are correct, some how the "still in the same terminal" managed to escape me as I moved through this. I apologize.
    I decided to put them in individualy:
    Code:
     sudo su TARGET=/media/sda1
    this gave me:
    Code:
    Unknown id: TARGET=/media/sda1

  8. #128
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    410
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: I have as of yet to see my desktop

    No, that's two separate commands. First do
    sudo su

    That will give you a root prompt.

    Then do the other commands, one at a time.

  9. #129
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Texas
    Beans
    89
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: I have as of yet to see my desktop

    Code:
    sudo su
    root@ubuntu:/home/ubuntu# TARGET=/media/sda1
    root@ubuntu:/home/ubuntu# mkdir -p $TARGET
    root@ubuntu:/home/ubuntu# mount /dev/sda1 $TARGET
    root@ubuntu:/home/ubuntu# mount -bind /dev $TARGET/dev
    mount: invalid option -- 'b'
    Usage: mount -V                              : print version
               mount -h                              : print this help
               mount                                  : list mounted filesystems
               mount -l                               : idem, including volume labels
    So far the informational part. Next the mounting.
    The command is 'mount [-t fstype] something somewhere'.
    Details found in /etc/fstab may be omitted.
              mount -a [-t|-o] ...                 : mount all stuff from /etc/fstab
              mount device                         : mount devices at the known place
              mount directory                      : mount known device here
              mount  -t type dev dir             : ordinary mount command
    Note that one does not really mount a device, one mounts
    a filesystem (of the given type) found on the device.
    One can also mount an already visible directory tree elsewhere:
              mount  --bind alddir newdir
    or move a subtree:
              mount  --move olddir newdir
    One can change the type of mount containing the directory dir:
              mount  --make-rshared dir
              mount  --make-rslave dir
              mount  --make-rprivate dir
              mount  --make-runbindable dir
    A device can be given by name, say /dev/hda1 or /dev/cdrom,
    or by label, using  -L label  or by uuid, using  -U uuid .
    Other options: [-nfFrsvw]  [-o options]  [-p password].
    For many more details, say  man 8 mount .
    root@ubuntu:/home/ubuntu# mount -bind /proc $Target/proc
    mount: invalid option  --  'b'
    Usage:  mount -V                             : print version
               mount -h                              : print this help
               mount                                  : list mounted filesystems
               mount -l                               : idem, including volume labels
    So far the informational part. Next the mounting.
    The command is 'mount [-t fstype] something somewhere'.
    Details found in /etc/fstab may be omitted.
              mount -a [-t|-o] ...                : mount all stuff from /etc/fstab
              mount device                        : mount device at the known place
              mount directory                     : mount known device here
              mount -t type dev dir             : ordinary mount command
    Note that one does not really mount a device, one mounts
    a filesystem (of the given type) found on the device.
    Once can also mount an already visible directory tree elsewhere:
             mount  --bind oldirr newdir
    or move a subtree:
             mount  --move olddirr newdir
    One can change the type of mount containing the directory dir:
             mount  --make-rshared dir
             mount  --make-rslave dir
             mount  --make-rprivate dir
             mount  --make-runbindable dir
    A device can be given by name, say /dev/hda1 or /dev/cdrom,
    or by label, using  -L label  or by uuid, using  -U uuid .
    Other options: [-nfFrsvw] [-o options] [-p passwdfd].
    For many more details, say  man 8 mount .
    root@ubuntu:/home/ubuntu# mount -bind/sys $TARGET/sys
    mount: invalid option  --  'b'
    Usage:  mount -V                              : print version
                mount -h                              : print this help
                mount                                  : list mounted filesystems
                mount -l                               : idem, including volume labels
    So far the informational part. Next the mounting.
    The command is 'mount [-t fstype] something somewhere'.
    Details found in /etc/fstab may be omitted.
              mount -a [-t|-o] ...                 : mount all stuff from /etc/fstab
              mount device                          : mount device at the known place
              mount directory                      : mount known device here
              mount  -t type dev dir             : ordinary mount command
    Note that one does not really mount a device, one mounts
    a filesystem (of the given type) found on the device.
    One can also mount an already visible directory tree elsewhere:
             mount  -bind olddir newdir
    or move a subtree:
             mount --move oldirr newdir
    One can change the type of mount containing the directory dir:
             mount  --make-shared dir
             mount  --make-slave dir
             mount  --make-private dir
             mount  --make-runbindable dir
    A device can be given by name, say /dev/hda1  or  /dev/cdrom,
    or by label, using  -L label  or by uuid, using  -U uuid .
    Other options: [-nfFrsvw]  [-o options]  [-p passwdfd].For more details, say  man 8 mount .
    root@ubuntu:/home/ubuntu# chroot $TARGET  /bin/bash
    root@ubuntu:/#

  10. #130
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Texas
    Beans
    89
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: I have as of yet to see my desktop

    I posted that up as much to get suggestions on how to dig through as to have a copy in a place other than the terminal so I can read through it.

Page 13 of 16 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •