Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie ssh Trouble

Beans

Newbie ssh Trouble

Hi there,

First time poster, first time user. Total linux noob, although I've kicked around the idea for a while. Anyway, can't find a real answer after hours of searching.

I wanted to fool around with having a home server. I have an old windows laptop I'm not using, so I figured I'd use that. I download the latest ubuntu server edition and install it correctly. I get intimidated by just having the command line and go ahead and download the latest (12.10) ubuntu desktop version and install it. Everything is great, install all the necessary updates including openssh.

My plan was to get to this point and walk away and begin doing the rest via ssh from my other home computers (I am also a ssh noob). I begin on my mac laptop because it's easier than installing putty on my windows desktop. I try to connect like this:

Code:
    ssh -l [yourusername] [your server's hostname]
    That doesn't work, I get a message saying something to the effect of that hostname doesn't exist (I assure you. it does). Then I tried it like this:

Code:
    ssh -l [yourusername]@[ipaddress]
    After trying to connect via my servers dynamic ip address, it looks like it's working and then I am greeted with "connection timed out".

Did some research figured I needed to change the port on the server and forward the port on my router. Change the config on the server to port 2222, then forward port 2222 on my router using my servers ip address.

For the heck of it I also installed putty on my windows desktop and proceeded to try it with the new port. I was greeted with the exact same results.

All I want to do is initially set up a safe server in my home that I can use to share media amongst my home computers. Can someone please help me set up ssh appropriately?? I cannot figure it out. Thanks.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Newbie ssh Trouble

Have you got openssh-server installed on the laptop ?