Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 31

Thread: ASUS nVidia not showing second monitor properly?

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Beans
    6,768
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: ASUS nVidia not showing second monitor properly?

    Try this:
    Code:
     sudo chmod 755 /etc/X11/technika_edid.bin
    Then check if permissions are OK:
    Code:
     ls -l /etc/X11/technika_edid.bin
    Then try again the parse command (you don't need sudo btw).

    Regards.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Cwmbran, South Wales, UK
    Beans
    171
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: ASUS nVidia not showing second monitor properly?

    Still the same outcome :L

    Xorg.0.log is stating that the file format is wrong?

    Edit...

    Could it need a .raw extension instead?
    Last edited by Jamie_Edwards; March 30th, 2013 at 03:54 PM.
    Box setup:
    Mobo - MSI 990XA-GD55 | CPU - AMD Athlon II X2 | GPU - eVGA GeForce 550Ti | RAM - 8GiB G.Skill Sniper Series DDR3 | Other - Corsair H60 Water Cooler | Dual Monitor Setup | Ubuntu 13.04 64bit

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Cwmbran, South Wales, UK
    Beans
    171
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: ASUS nVidia not showing second monitor properly?

    Any ideas? :L
    Box setup:
    Mobo - MSI 990XA-GD55 | CPU - AMD Athlon II X2 | GPU - eVGA GeForce 550Ti | RAM - 8GiB G.Skill Sniper Series DDR3 | Other - Corsair H60 Water Cooler | Dual Monitor Setup | Ubuntu 13.04 64bit

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Cwmbran, South Wales, UK
    Beans
    171
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: ASUS nVidia not showing second monitor properly?

    Couold it be the fact I'm using 12.10 and not 12.04?

    What I mean by that is, if I install 12.04 will the problem hopefully resolve itself?
    Box setup:
    Mobo - MSI 990XA-GD55 | CPU - AMD Athlon II X2 | GPU - eVGA GeForce 550Ti | RAM - 8GiB G.Skill Sniper Series DDR3 | Other - Corsair H60 Water Cooler | Dual Monitor Setup | Ubuntu 13.04 64bit

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Cwmbran, South Wales, UK
    Beans
    171
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: ASUS nVidia not showing second monitor properly?

    Right now now that I've changed back to 12.04 and read through the steps, I'm getting the following from Xorg.0.log:
    Code:
    [  3649.048] (WW) NVIDIA(GPU-0): Unable to use EDID file '/etc/X11/edid.bin': file format not
    [  3649.048] (WW) NVIDIA(GPU-0):     recognized
    [  3649.078] (WW) NVIDIA(GPU-0): The EDID read for display device DFP-1 is invalid:
    [  3649.078] (WW) NVIDIA(GPU-0):     unrecognized EDID Header.
    The second time I unzipped the EDID file you provided, it came out with the right permissions which are as follows:
    http://paste.ubuntu.com/5668084/

    I really want to know why the EDID header is unrecognised :L and more importantly, how to fix it.
    Box setup:
    Mobo - MSI 990XA-GD55 | CPU - AMD Athlon II X2 | GPU - eVGA GeForce 550Ti | RAM - 8GiB G.Skill Sniper Series DDR3 | Other - Corsair H60 Water Cooler | Dual Monitor Setup | Ubuntu 13.04 64bit

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Cwmbran, South Wales, UK
    Beans
    171
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: ASUS nVidia not showing second monitor properly?

    Update...

    Right, I've had a play around in xorg.conf and this is what I did...

    I opened up the file and put the following in:

    Code:
    Option        "NoEDID"        "True"
    #Option       "UseEDID"       "False"
    The reason behind me commenting out the "UseEDID" option is so I could test each out one by one. When I restarted with the above. It had the same outcome as before, so I opened Xorg.0.log and had a look. I noticed that it looked as though it was loading the above for CRT-1 ( which is my fully functioning Philips monitor ) and then complain it wasn't the right file format.

    So I uncommented the "UseEDID" and rebooted again to find a very ugly change, my Philips was exactly the same as my Technika TV. Again I looked in Xorg.0.log and found that it won't probe either monitors EDID's, so I deleted the two new options ( leaving the custom-edid one ) and rebooted to find my Philips back to normal... Could it be that Ubuntu is trying to load the EDID for my Philips and as a result not recognising it and not bothering with my Technika?

    If you're wondering, here's my new xorg.conf file:
    http://paste.ubuntu.com/5672388/

    Thanks.
    Box setup:
    Mobo - MSI 990XA-GD55 | CPU - AMD Athlon II X2 | GPU - eVGA GeForce 550Ti | RAM - 8GiB G.Skill Sniper Series DDR3 | Other - Corsair H60 Water Cooler | Dual Monitor Setup | Ubuntu 13.04 64bit

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Beans
    6,768
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: ASUS nVidia not showing second monitor properly?

    Could you post the result of this command?
    Code:
    parse-edid < /etc/X11/technika_edid.bin
    Regards.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Cwmbran, South Wales, UK
    Beans
    171
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: ASUS nVidia not showing second monitor properly?

    Box setup:
    Mobo - MSI 990XA-GD55 | CPU - AMD Athlon II X2 | GPU - eVGA GeForce 550Ti | RAM - 8GiB G.Skill Sniper Series DDR3 | Other - Corsair H60 Water Cooler | Dual Monitor Setup | Ubuntu 13.04 64bit

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Cwmbran, South Wales, UK
    Beans
    171
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: ASUS nVidia not showing second monitor properly?

    Anything?
    Box setup:
    Mobo - MSI 990XA-GD55 | CPU - AMD Athlon II X2 | GPU - eVGA GeForce 550Ti | RAM - 8GiB G.Skill Sniper Series DDR3 | Other - Corsair H60 Water Cooler | Dual Monitor Setup | Ubuntu 13.04 64bit

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Cwmbran, South Wales, UK
    Beans
    171
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: ASUS nVidia not showing second monitor properly?

    I really need this fixed so I can use the CUDA function of the card with Blender 3D, otherwise I'm going to need to change back to my previous card.

    Any idea's?
    Box setup:
    Mobo - MSI 990XA-GD55 | CPU - AMD Athlon II X2 | GPU - eVGA GeForce 550Ti | RAM - 8GiB G.Skill Sniper Series DDR3 | Other - Corsair H60 Water Cooler | Dual Monitor Setup | Ubuntu 13.04 64bit

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •