Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 31

Thread: ASUS nVidia not showing second monitor properly?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Beans
    7,790
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: ASUS nVidia not showing second monitor properly?

    I think I got something.

    I took the raw EDID data:
    Code:
    00 00 ff ff ff ff ff 00 0e d4 80 10 33 41 32 01
    20 11 01 03 80 46 28 78 0a ee 91 a3 54 4c 99 26
    0f 50 54 00 00 00 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01
    01 01 01 01 01 01 02 3a 80 d0 72 38 2d 40 10 2c
    45 80 df a4 21 00 00 1e 8c 0a d0 8a 20 e0 2d 10
    10 3e 96 00 df a4 21 00 00 18 00 00 00 fc 00 43
    56 54 45 20 54 56 0a 20 20 20 20 20 00 00 00 fd
    00 30 3e 0e 46 0f 00 0a 20 20 20 20 20 20 01 96
    I used this code:
    Code:
    #include <stdio.h>
    
    int main()
    {
    	unsigned char i;
    
    	scanf("%02x ", &i);
    	while (!feof(stdin))
    	{
    		printf("%c", i);
    		scanf("%02x", &i);
    	}
    	return 0;
    }
    And got this:
    Code:
    $ ./hex2bin < edid.txt | parse-edid 
    parse-edid: parse-edid version 2.0.0
    parse-edid: EDID checksum failed - data is corrupt. Continuing anyway.
    
    	# EDID version 1 revision 3
    Section "Monitor"
    	# Block type: 2:0 3:fc
    	Identifier "CVTE TV"
    	VendorName "CVT"
    	ModelName "CVTE TV"
    	# Block type: 2:0 3:fc
    	# Block type: 2:0 3:fd
    	HorizSync 14-70
    	VertRefresh 48-62
    	# Max dot clock (video bandwidth) 150 MHz
    	# DPMS capabilities: Active off:no  Suspend:no  Standby:no
    
    	Mode 	"1920x1080"	# vfreq 50.000Hz, hfreq 56.250kHz
    		DotClock	148.500000
    		HTimings	1920 1968 2012 2640
    		VTimings	1080 1084 1089 1125
    		Flags	"+HSync" "+VSync"
    	EndMode
    	Mode 	"720x480"	# vfreq 59.940Hz, hfreq 31.469kHz
    		DotClock	27.000000
    		HTimings	720 736 798 858
    		VTimings	480 489 495 525
    		Flags	"-HSync" "-VSync"
    	EndMode
    	# Block type: 2:0 3:fc
    	# Block type: 2:0 3:fd
    EndSection
    That sounds like the correct info for a TV (1920x1080 res), but with a invalid checksum.

    This problem is very similar to this thread. Take a look at it and see if you can continue the steps. If not, let us know so we can give you more directions.

    Regards.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Cwmbran, South Wales, UK
    Beans
    193
    Distro
    Ubuntu 15.10 Wily Werewolf

    Re: ASUS nVidia not showing second monitor properly?

    As I said, I can't use Phoenix EDID Editor because it's throwing an error saying "Disk Full" :L
    Main rig setup:
    Mobo - MSI 790 Mainboard | CPU - AMD FX43000 Black Edition x4 | GPU - eVGA GeForce 550Ti | RAM - 8GiB G.Skill Sniper Series DDR3 | Other - Corsair H60 Water Cooler | Dual Monitor Setup | Kingston HyperX 240GB SSD | Windows 10

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Cwmbran, South Wales, UK
    Beans
    193
    Distro
    Ubuntu 15.10 Wily Werewolf

    Re: ASUS nVidia not showing second monitor properly?

    I tried using Phoenix on my parents laptop but I haven't got a clue in what to do and how to use it and if it means I'm needing to attach my HDTV to it then I can't :L
    Main rig setup:
    Mobo - MSI 790 Mainboard | CPU - AMD FX43000 Black Edition x4 | GPU - eVGA GeForce 550Ti | RAM - 8GiB G.Skill Sniper Series DDR3 | Other - Corsair H60 Water Cooler | Dual Monitor Setup | Kingston HyperX 240GB SSD | Windows 10

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Cwmbran, South Wales, UK
    Beans
    193
    Distro
    Ubuntu 15.10 Wily Werewolf

    Re: ASUS nVidia not showing second monitor properly?

    Right new update to trying to get my monitor to work....

    I tried going into nvidia-settings, clicked on DFP-0 and then to my dismay, the "Acquire EDID" button was greyed out signalling I can't use it. However on a whim I read in another post that the OP had his running through a VGA switch ( much the same as mine ) but got better results by removing his cable from that switch and putting it into its own port.

    I shut my computer down and did the same only to find it was to no avail. I then did some more searching and found another post talking about a custom bash script that would extract the edid, decode it and then allow you to edit it and write it back to the monitor memory. I gave it a try and sure enough it "worked" ( well it didn't as you'll see ). The script is this:
    https://github.com/bulletmark/edid-rw

    I then did as it said using
    Code:
    sudo ./edid-rw 0 | edid-decode
    and got this:
    Code:
    Traceback (most recent call last):
      File "./edid-rw", line 141, in <module>
        main()
      File "./edid-rw", line 129, in main
        edid = [dev.read(i) for i in range(EDID_HDR)]
      File "./edid-rw", line 48, in read
        return self.smb.read_byte_data(EDID_ADDR, n)
    IOError: [Errno 5] Input/output error
    Extracted contents:
    header:          00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    serial number:   00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    version:         00 00
    basic params:    00 00 00 00 00
    chroma info:     00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    established:     00 00 00
    standard:        00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    descriptor 1:    00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    descriptor 2:    00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    descriptor 3:    00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    descriptor 4:    00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    extensions:      00
    checksum:        00
    
    No header found
    Manufacturer: @@@ Model 0 Serial Number 0
    EDID version: 0.0
    Analog display, Input voltage level: 0.7/0.3 V
    Sync: 
    Image size is variable
    Gamma: 1.00
    Monochrome or grayscale display
    Established timings supported:
    Standard timings supported:
    non-conformant standard timing (0 horiz)
    non-conformant standard timing (0 horiz)
    non-conformant standard timing (0 horiz)
    non-conformant standard timing (0 horiz)
    non-conformant standard timing (0 horiz)
    non-conformant standard timing (0 horiz)
    non-conformant standard timing (0 horiz)
    non-conformant standard timing (0 horiz)
    Manufacturer-specified data, tag 0
    Manufacturer-specified data, tag 0
    Manufacturer-specified data, tag 0
    Manufacturer-specified data, tag 0
    Checksum: 0x0
    EDID block does not conform at all!
        Bad year of manufacture
        Manufacturer name field contains garbage
    That doesn't look good, so I tried having a stab at my Philips:
    Code:
    Extracted contents:
    header:          00 ff ff ff ff ff ff 00
    serial number:   41 0c 13 08 cb 7d 03 00 1d 0d
    version:         01 03
    basic params:    0e 1e 17 78 ea
    chroma info:     7e a5 a0 58 4e 96 25 1e 50 54
    established:     bf ee 00
    standard:        01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01
    descriptor 1:    64 19 00 40 41 00 26 30 18 88 36 00 33 e6 10 00 00 18
    descriptor 2:    00 00 00 ff 00 20 43 58 20 20 32 32 38 38 31 31 0a 20
    descriptor 3:    00 00 00 fc 00 50 68 69 6c 69 70 73 20 31 35 30 42 0a
    descriptor 4:    00 00 00 fd 00 38 4c 1e 3f 08 00 0a 20 20 20 20 20 20
    extensions:      00
    checksum:        91
    
    Manufacturer: PHL Model 813 Serial Number 228811
    EDID version: 1.3
    Analog display, Input voltage level: 0.7/0.3 V
    Sync: Separate Composite SyncOnGreen 
    Maximum image size: 30 cm x 23 cm
    Gamma: 2.20
    DPMS levels: Standby Suspend Off
    RGB color display
    First detailed timing is preferred timing
    Established timings supported:
      720x400@70Hz
      640x480@60Hz
      640x480@67Hz
      640x480@72Hz
      640x480@75Hz
      800x600@56Hz
      800x600@60Hz
      800x600@72Hz
      800x600@75Hz
      832x624@75Hz
      1024x768@60Hz
      1024x768@70Hz
      1024x768@75Hz
    Standard timings supported:
    Detailed mode: Clock 65.000 MHz, 307 mm x 230 mm
                   1024 1048 1184 1344 hborder 0
                    768  771  777  806 vborder 0
                   -hsync -vsync
    Serial number:  CX  228811
     Monitor name: Philips 150B
    Monitor ranges: 56-76HZ vertical, 30-63kHz horizontal, max dotclock 80MHz
    Checksum: 0x91
    EDID block does not conform at all!
        Bad year of manufacture
    That looks better. But it's from my working monitor. As you can see from the highlight that the Philips monitor is picked up properly whereas Ubuntu hasn't got a clue about the Technika... Anyway. I extracted the DFP monitor to a binary file and opened it in vim to find nothing. Nothing at all.

    I have no clue in what to do now. I can't edit the edid because a) I don't know how to and b) because there is nothing there.
    Main rig setup:
    Mobo - MSI 790 Mainboard | CPU - AMD FX43000 Black Edition x4 | GPU - eVGA GeForce 550Ti | RAM - 8GiB G.Skill Sniper Series DDR3 | Other - Corsair H60 Water Cooler | Dual Monitor Setup | Kingston HyperX 240GB SSD | Windows 10

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Beans
    7,790
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: ASUS nVidia not showing second monitor properly?

    I just want to make sure of a couple of things before going forward.

    If I understand correctly the Phillips monitor is set up properly and have a max resolution of 1024x768. If that is correct. The raw EDID data that you can see on the log you linked on post #6 has to be from the TV.

    As you can see in post #11, I took that data and parsed it manually using parse-edid that comes on the package read-edid. The parsed data confirms that the max resolution is full HD: 1920x1080, but also that it is corrupt.

    With that in mind, the first thing that I would try is to adjust the last byte to correct the checksum (explained on post #10 of the thread that I linked).

    Are we on the same page?

    Let me know so we can move in that direction, if that's OK with you of course.
    Regards.
    Last edited by papibe; March 28th, 2013 at 05:52 PM.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Cwmbran, South Wales, UK
    Beans
    193
    Distro
    Ubuntu 15.10 Wily Werewolf

    Re: ASUS nVidia not showing second monitor properly?

    Thank you for being patient with me thus far.

    After sitting down and really trying to get my head around it, I really don't know what I'm supposed to be doing. I haven't got a working edid.bin file that I could use and what's more is, I don't know what I'm supposed to do to make the checksum valid. You stated in the other post:

    According to the EDID description linked above, the checksum is the sum of all the bytes in the file and has to sum 0 (zero). Yours sums 30. If you replace the 127th byte (current value E3) for B3. The checksum becomes zero.
    How do I get to editing that in the first place, and what do I edit it to? I really do not know I'm supposed to do :S
    Last edited by Jamie_Edwards; March 29th, 2013 at 04:12 AM.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Beans
    7,790
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: ASUS nVidia not showing second monitor properly?

    This is a the EDID data from your Xorg.0.log saved as edid.txt:
    Code:
    00 00 ff ff ff ff ff 00 0e d4 80 10 33 41 32 01
    20 11 01 03 80 46 28 78 0a ee 91 a3 54 4c 99 26
    0f 50 54 00 00 00 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01
    01 01 01 01 01 01 02 3a 80 d0 72 38 2d 40 10 2c
    45 80 df a4 21 00 00 1e 8c 0a d0 8a 20 e0 2d 10
    10 3e 96 00 df a4 21 00 00 18 00 00 00 fc 00 43
    56 54 45 20 54 56 0a 20 20 20 20 20 00 00 00 fd
    00 30 3e 0e 46 0f 00 0a 20 20 20 20 20 20 01 96
    To convert that to a binary file, I've used this C program called hex2bin.c
    Code:
    #include <stdio.h>
    
    int main()
    {
    	unsigned char i;
    
    	scanf("%02x ", &i);
    	while (!feof(stdin))
    	{
    		printf("%c", i);
    		scanf("%02x", &i);
    	}
    	return 0;
    }
    And compiled into hex2bin:
    Code:
    gcc hex2bin.c -o hex2bin
    To calculate the checksum I've used this program called checksum.c:
    Code:
    #include <stdio.h>
    
    int main()
    {
      unsigned char sum;
      int i;
    
      sum = 0;
      for( i = 0; i < 128; i++)
      {
        unsigned char byte;
    
        scanf("%c", &byte);
        // printf("%X\n", byte);
        sum += byte;
      }
      printf("%x\n", sum);
      return 0;
    }
    That I compiled into checksum:
    Code:
    gcc - checksum.c -o checksum
    Then I can check the sum by doing:
    Code:
    $ ./hex2bin < edid.txt | ./checksum
    Which gives:
    Code:
    1
    So we have 1 instead of 0. The purpose of the last byte is that the sum gives 0. If you replace the last byte from 96 to 95. The sums become 0

    I edited the text file and saved as corrected_edid.txt. Then I double check the sum is correct:
    Code:
    $ ./hex2bin < corrected_edid.txt | ./checksum 
    0
    Now I save that into a binary file like this:
    Code:
    ./hex2bin < corrected_edid.txt > edid.bin
    Which is the file compressed and attached,

    Would you be able to complete the next steps?

    Let me know if you need more help with that.
    Regards.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Cwmbran, South Wales, UK
    Beans
    193
    Distro
    Ubuntu 15.10 Wily Werewolf

    Re: ASUS nVidia not showing second monitor properly?

    Update...

    Despite doing everything you've stated both in this post and the other post, it's still using the EDID from the actual TV and not from the custom edid?

    After I rebooted, the display is still 800x600 so I did a little digging....
    Code:
    :~$ grep technika /etc/X11/xorg.conf
        Option         "CustomEDID" "/etc/X11/technika_edid.bin"
    OK so it's there. But why is it not using it!?! just for kicks I have a look in Xorg.0.log and started searching to see if it would be loaded...
    Code:
    [    14.708] (**) NVIDIA(0): Option "CustomEDID" "/etc/X11/technika_edid.bin"
    Oh so it is. If you want to see the file I posted it on pastebin...
    http://paste.ubuntu.com/5658181/

    Any ideas?




    Edit...
    I noticed later on in the other post that you saud the OP should place DFP-0: into the CustomEDID option. I did so and though it didn't work with -0 I tried -1 and well this happened in Xorg.0.log:
    Code:
    [    29.014] (WW) NVIDIA(GPU-0): Unable to use EDID file '/etc/X11/technika_edid.bin': file
    [    29.014] (WW) NVIDIA(GPU-0):     format not recognized
    At least I know that and it's now turned into the problem X(
    Last edited by Jamie_Edwards; March 29th, 2013 at 08:46 PM.
    Main rig setup:
    Mobo - MSI 790 Mainboard | CPU - AMD FX43000 Black Edition x4 | GPU - eVGA GeForce 550Ti | RAM - 8GiB G.Skill Sniper Series DDR3 | Other - Corsair H60 Water Cooler | Dual Monitor Setup | Kingston HyperX 240GB SSD | Windows 10

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Beans
    7,790
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: ASUS nVidia not showing second monitor properly?



    Yes, if there are several monitors involved, you should use the name of the monitor. According to your logs the proper name would be DFP-1

    Did you unzip the attachment?

    Could you post the result of this command?
    Code:
    parse-edid < /etc/X11/technika_edid.bin
    You may need to install this first:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install read-edid
    Regards.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Cwmbran, South Wales, UK
    Beans
    193
    Distro
    Ubuntu 15.10 Wily Werewolf

    Re: ASUS nVidia not showing second monitor properly?

    Funny, the output is
    Code:
    :~$ sudo parse-edid < /etc/X11/technika_edid.bin
    bash: /etc/X11/technika_edid.bin: Permission denied
    Umm, something's telling me that xorg hasn't got the permission it needs to access the file?
    Main rig setup:
    Mobo - MSI 790 Mainboard | CPU - AMD FX43000 Black Edition x4 | GPU - eVGA GeForce 550Ti | RAM - 8GiB G.Skill Sniper Series DDR3 | Other - Corsair H60 Water Cooler | Dual Monitor Setup | Kingston HyperX 240GB SSD | Windows 10

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •