Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31

Thread: ASUS nVidia not showing second monitor properly?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Cwmbran, South Wales, UK
    Beans
    171
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    ASUS nVidia not showing second monitor properly?

    Hi guys,

    I've recently changed my graphics card to the ASUS nVidia GeForce 210 and I'm having huge problems.

    When I first installed the drivers for it, everything c**ked up. as it didn't have that nvidia-xconf thing. Fine, no biggy. So I reinstalled Ubuntu and tried again using a tutorial on the internet. This went OK. and it's now "working".

    What isn't working however is that my second monitor is completely the wrong resolution to how it should be. I have a 15" screen at 1024x768 and a 19" HDTV monitor which should be at 1920x1080 but instead it's something like 800x600. Oh and the Displays app also says that the HDTV is 'Unknown'.

    I've looked at a few threads and one said it could be the HDMI cable, but I know it isn't because after I read it I tried the cable in both my XBox and my parents laptop and it displayed fine.

    Any idea's on what I could do?

    A fewe details about my setup:

    Ubuntu 12.10 64-bit
    ASUS nVidia GeForce 210
    Philips 15" Monitor (1024x768)
    Technika 19" HDTV (supposed to be 1920x1080 but at the moment 800x600)

    Thanks guys.
    Box setup:
    Mobo - MSI 990XA-GD55 | CPU - AMD Athlon II X2 | GPU - eVGA GeForce 550Ti | RAM - 8GiB G.Skill Sniper Series DDR3 | Other - Corsair H60 Water Cooler | Dual Monitor Setup | Ubuntu 13.04 64bit

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Cwmbran, South Wales, UK
    Beans
    171
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: ASUS nVidia not showing second monitor properly?

    No one knows how I can solve this?
    Box setup:
    Mobo - MSI 990XA-GD55 | CPU - AMD Athlon II X2 | GPU - eVGA GeForce 550Ti | RAM - 8GiB G.Skill Sniper Series DDR3 | Other - Corsair H60 Water Cooler | Dual Monitor Setup | Ubuntu 13.04 64bit

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Beans
    6,906
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: ASUS nVidia not showing second monitor properly?

    Hi Jamie_Edwards.

    Could you tell us about the card's outputs, the cables you are using, and what inputs are plug in on the monitors?

    Regards.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Cwmbran, South Wales, UK
    Beans
    171
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: ASUS nVidia not showing second monitor properly?

    The card has three ports: VGA, HDMI and DVI-I to which I'm using the VGA and a DVI to HDMI adapter ( but I had a go at using the HDMI slot with the same result.
    Box setup:
    Mobo - MSI 990XA-GD55 | CPU - AMD Athlon II X2 | GPU - eVGA GeForce 550Ti | RAM - 8GiB G.Skill Sniper Series DDR3 | Other - Corsair H60 Water Cooler | Dual Monitor Setup | Ubuntu 13.04 64bit

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Beans
    6,906
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: ASUS nVidia not showing second monitor properly?

    Thanks.

    Could you please post the content of these files:
    Code:
    /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    
    /var/log/Xorg.0.log
    Paste them separately here: http://paste.ubuntu.com/, and post back the links to them.

    Regards.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Cwmbran, South Wales, UK
    Beans
    171
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: ASUS nVidia not showing second monitor properly?

    Box setup:
    Mobo - MSI 990XA-GD55 | CPU - AMD Athlon II X2 | GPU - eVGA GeForce 550Ti | RAM - 8GiB G.Skill Sniper Series DDR3 | Other - Corsair H60 Water Cooler | Dual Monitor Setup | Ubuntu 13.04 64bit

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Cwmbran, South Wales, UK
    Beans
    171
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: ASUS nVidia not showing second monitor properly?

    Reading through the text I noticed this on line 640-641:

    The EDID read for display device DFP-0 is invalid: [ 9954.350] (WW) NVIDIA(GPU-0): unrecognized EDID Header.

    That doesn't sound too good...
    Box setup:
    Mobo - MSI 990XA-GD55 | CPU - AMD Athlon II X2 | GPU - eVGA GeForce 550Ti | RAM - 8GiB G.Skill Sniper Series DDR3 | Other - Corsair H60 Water Cooler | Dual Monitor Setup | Ubuntu 13.04 64bit

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Beans
    6,906
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: ASUS nVidia not showing second monitor properly?

    Code:
    [    32.231] (WW) NVIDIA(GPU-0): The EDID read for display device DFP-0 is invalid:
    [    32.231] (WW) NVIDIA(GPU-0):     unrecognized EDID Header.
    [    32.231] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0):
    The card can't get the TV's internal timings (EDID).

    I would try another TV input, and making sure the cable is well connected. Some TV manufactures publish that data, and it may be possible to get it into a file and hardcode it into your xorg.conf

    What is your TV's brand and model?

    Regards.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Cwmbran, South Wales, UK
    Beans
    171
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: ASUS nVidia not showing second monitor properly?

    The model is Technika and the model is LCD19-218
    Last edited by Jamie_Edwards; March 27th, 2013 at 01:31 PM. Reason: Given wrong model information
    Box setup:
    Mobo - MSI 990XA-GD55 | CPU - AMD Athlon II X2 | GPU - eVGA GeForce 550Ti | RAM - 8GiB G.Skill Sniper Series DDR3 | Other - Corsair H60 Water Cooler | Dual Monitor Setup | Ubuntu 13.04 64bit

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Cwmbran, South Wales, UK
    Beans
    171
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: ASUS nVidia not showing second monitor properly?

    OK, after finding a few other posts about this kind of issue ( with yourself helping ) I've managed to find a few things out...

    It does seem to be a dead/corrupt EDID and after doing
    Code:
    sudo get-edid > filename
    I got the following:
    http://paste.ubuntu.com/5652329/

    Then after doing
    Code:
    sudo parse-edid
    I got the following:
    http://paste.ubuntu.com/5652333/

    I also tried using that Phoenix EDID Editor but it threw a "Disk Full" error.

    Finally I think that this:
    http://paste.ubuntu.com/5652343/

    Is the EDID for the HDTV ( which is also labeled as DFP-0 )
    Box setup:
    Mobo - MSI 990XA-GD55 | CPU - AMD Athlon II X2 | GPU - eVGA GeForce 550Ti | RAM - 8GiB G.Skill Sniper Series DDR3 | Other - Corsair H60 Water Cooler | Dual Monitor Setup | Ubuntu 13.04 64bit

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •