Thread: htaccess Issues.

Beans

htaccess Issues.

First of all, i'd like to apologize for how stupid this question may be (i'm unsure)

i installed Ubuntu Server 12.10 on an old PC last week (for something to do) and everything up until now has been going smoothly. please note that i have no previous experience with any server - just thought it could be a little project

i've got an open ssh server installed, with apache2, php5 and mysql.

last night i set up a very simple website and started hosting it - when i came to .htaccess it started getting messy! no online tutorials seem to include how to actually create these files (in notepad and drag and drop or with the actual server!?)

so i made them using notepad on my pc and dragged them over, placing them in the directory i wanted to protect (this is simply called Data and is held in my /var/www folder. The authentication pop-up works great but no matter how many times i input my username and password, it just pops up again. I've looked through pretty much every site i can find and after changing something to AllowOverride All, there's nothing else i can find to help me. when i have the htaccess and htpasswd files in the directory now, it tells me there is a server error. i dont know whether i have completely messed it up and considered re-installing the entire server system and starting again!

i was hoping one of you kind people could save me from hitting my head against the wall again - couldn't sleep last night because of the headache! ha.

Thank you

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: htaccess Issues.

Have you looked in /var/log/apache2/error.log to see if there are more details?

Are both the .htaccess and .htpasswd files in locations that the "www-data" user can read? Do they have proper permissions to allow that user to read them? Make sure that all references to files are absolute ones with full paths (see below).