Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Unable to Login with GUI. Coloured lines\bars

Beans

Unable to Login with GUI. Coloured lines\bars

Hi,
    I am new to Linux i successfully installed lubuntu 12.10 alternate version "lubuntu-12.10-alternate-i386". I checked the iso file using "winmid5Sum" and it was proper. I burned it and checked error for disk, even that was proper. After installation , from grub i went to ubuntu, then i got this weird screen full of colored bars. It didn't make any sense. I tried ctrl+alt+f1 and logged onto it, then ctrl+alt+f7. still the same screen.

i am using

System Model: HV84510A
    BIOS: Default System BIOS
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 1.60GHz
    Memory: 512MB RAM
    Hard Disk: 160 GB
    Display Devices
    ---------------
    Card name: S3 Graphics Inc. Savage4
    Manufacturer: S3 Graphics Inc.
    Chip type: S3 Savage4
    DAC type: S3 SDAC
    Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_5333&DEV_8A22&SUBSYS_8A225333&REV_03
    Display Memory: 32.0 MB
    Current Mode: 1152 x 864 (32 bit) (60Hz)
    Monitor: Plug and Play Monitor
    Monitor Max Res: 1600,1200
    Driver Name: s3sav4.dll
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by pradyot; April 14th, 2013 at 07:53 AM.

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: Unable to Login with GUI. Coloured lines\bars

Hi

Welcome to the forums

My first question: Is this a Wubi installation (inside Windows) or did you install it into its own partition ?

Can you boot into "safe mode" (to use a Windows expression) from the grub menu ? (This will help to identify if it's a driver problem or something more serious as safe mode uses the Vesa driver).

Kind regards
    If you believe everything you read, you better not read. ~ Japanese Proverb

If you don't read the newspaper, you're uninformed. If you read the newspaper, you're mis-informed. - Mark Twain

Thinking about becoming an Ubuntu Member?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Driver issue !
    johnnyg713