Thread: Server Guides :)

Hybrid View

Beans

Server Guides :)

Hey guys I have a spare AMD dual core shuttle currently doing nothing so I am thinking of slinging ubuntu server on it and getting a few services configured.

I am a noob I am not a programmer and I am coming from a Windows world.

The initial goals I have are

Samba server sharing data to Windows machine I also want to learn about how to secure shares and create users who can access shares.

Torrent server having the ability to download torrents and serve them up via the samba shares.

Some kind of media streaming to both PS3 and Windows 7 PC

FTP what is the best FTP service to use? I need a guide that explains how to set it up how to secure and how to create users and shares.

Some easy method of backing up my samba shares

If somebody has done something similar or can point me in the direction of noob friendly guides that would be most helpful like I said before I am not a programmer or a command line genius I just want clear concise steps to get stuff configured and working

Or is this to much to ask?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Server Guides :)

I would recommand the Ubuntu server guide as your main reference. Myself, I prefer the PDF version, so that I can print pages and make notes on them. It contains many links to further reference materials. The links are to the 12.10 version, but I would use that version even if installing 12.04 as some changes haven't been backported.
    Any follow-up information on your issue would be appreciated. Please have the courtesy to report back.

ibjsb4 is offline Ubuntu addict and loving it
    Beans

You can find a lot of information here.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro

Some stuff to point you in some sort of direction
    Quote Originally Posted by ally_uk View Post
    Hey guys I have a spare AMD dual core shuttle currently doing nothing so I am thinking of slinging ubuntu server on it and getting a few services configured.