Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Linux Shell Script to authenticate usb drive deny others

Beans

Linux Shell Script to authenticate usb drive deny others

Hi, I am currently hardening my Kubuntu 12.10 OS and I want to run a shell script that automatically runs when my usb is plugged in. It should ask for authentication/authorization for my usb when its plugged in and deny ANY other device. So basically what I want is a lockdown of all external media except those which I have specified to be authenticated when they're plugged in. I've seen an example of running a script when a usb device is plugged in but I'm not sure how to incorporate a messagebox style prompt asking the user for a password and lockdown other devices. To me this is very challenging as I'm still relatively new to Linux and I probably wouldn't know how to do it on an OS I am familiar with.

Thanks in advance.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

Re: Linux Shell Script to authenticate usb drive deny others

You should look into Zenity.

EDIT: Manual page available here, with examples: http://www.linuxmanpages.com/man1/zenity.1.php

Try this ...

Code:
    zenity --entry --text="Password" --title="USB Device" --hide-text
    Last edited by r-senior; March 23rd, 2013 at 08:07 PM.
    Please create new threads for new questions.
    Please wrap code in code tags using the '#' button or enter it in your post like this: [code]...[/code].

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Quote Originally Posted by Cyrebo View Post