Thread: 12.10 hangs on boot. Windows 7 dual boot machine

Beans

12.10 hangs on boot. Windows 7 dual boot machine

I am experiencing some issues in upgrading from Ubuntu 12.04 LTS to 12.10. I initially did a install of LTS and when it was all working I did the upgrade via the Software Update tool.

On re-booting it hangs on a purple screen with Ubuntu and five yellow dots that don’t move.

I have a Samsung Q320 with Nvidea graphics card.

I have done the following

Before booting changing the default wording from $linux_gfx_mode to nomodeset.
    Run updates in terminal including nvidea. This gave a warning about broken packages so I then run the utility that fixes broken packages (fmck? - cant remember dont have that computer with me now)

I am new to Ubuntu having switched from Fuduntu (which I found very stable and compatible but a little dated). Whilst I would be happy with Ubuntu LTS I would then be stuck on that version and to me there does not seem a lot of point in having an operating system that you are afraid to upgrade.

As you may tell I am not an expert. I can follow instructions to enter commands in terminal but don’t have a proper understanding.

If someone could post some commands to get outputs which I could paste or make any other suggestions I would appreciate it greatly.
    Last edited by tjuklondon; March 28th, 2013 at 09:43 PM.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: 12.10 hangs on boot. Windows 7 dual boot machine

What happens when you boot without adding "nomodeset"?

I think the issue is of broken packages. Post the output of:

Code:
    sudo apt-get update
    Read Here to learn how to run the above command if your system is not loading (refer to the section "Upate Failure").

Personally, I don't recommend UPGRADE... always do a CLEAN INSTALL when you are upgrading to a newer version.