Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: amd64 or i368

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Beans
    20

    amd64 or i368

    I am runing lubuntu 12.10 on a pc with a Pentium D, which i think is 64 bit but when i try to install AMD64 versions of software I sometimes get a message saying wrong architecture,and the i386 verson works. Am I misundersdtanding the difference between the 2. Are AMD64 versions purely for AMD processors? Any help would be most welcome.Thanks.Paul.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    The Left Coast of the USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: amd64 or i368

    AMD64 is a convention based on what is more or less a historical accident: AMD was the first to bring a 64 bit processor to the consumer market. You will often hear it referred to as x86_64 these days.

    The Pentium D should be a 64 bit CPU -- two cores -- but that may not necessarily be true depending on how early it was.

    Post back the results of

    Code:
    uname -r
    and we can tell for sure if you are running the 64 bit version.
    Last edited by QIII; March 21st, 2013 at 11:45 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    The Shadow Gallery
    Beans
    6,803

    Re: amd64 or i368

    Quote Originally Posted by paulie-m View Post
    I am runing lubuntu 12.10 on a pc with a Pentium D, which i think is 64 bit but when i try to install AMD64 versions of software I sometimes get a message saying wrong architecture,and the i386 verson works. Am I misundersdtanding the difference between the 2. Are AMD64 versions purely for AMD processors? Any help would be most welcome.Thanks.Paul.
    post the response to the following which you type in terminal:
    Code:
    uname -m
    Feel Free to Bitcoin Tip: 135Rp4pwwYTHEJ4u8bxKaDQiC91N9LUoV2

    Backtrack - Giving machine guns to monkeys since 2006
    Kali-Linux - Adding a grenade launcher to the machine guns since 2013

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Beans
    20

    Re: amd64 or i368

    it says i686. does this mean AMD64 architecture?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    The Shadow Gallery
    Beans
    6,803

    Re: amd64 or i368

    Quote Originally Posted by paulie-m View Post
    it says i686. does this mean AMD64 architecture?
    you are running a 32 bit OS thats why x64 dont work. if it was 64 bit it would say something like x86_64

    Peace
    Feel Free to Bitcoin Tip: 135Rp4pwwYTHEJ4u8bxKaDQiC91N9LUoV2

    Backtrack - Giving machine guns to monkeys since 2006
    Kali-Linux - Adding a grenade launcher to the machine guns since 2013

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Beans
    20

    Re: amd64 or i368

    Sorry to be a pest but could you clarify just 1 more thing? You say i am running 32bit os. does that mean my processor is 32bit or could a install a 64bit os if,for instance i had >4GB memory and wanted to acess it? thanks.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    The Shadow Gallery
    Beans
    6,803

    Re: amd64 or i368

    Quote Originally Posted by paulie-m View Post
    Sorry to be a pest but could you clarify just 1 more thing? You say i am running 32bit os. does that mean my processor is 32bit or could a install a 64bit os if,for instance i had >4GB memory and wanted to acess it? thanks.
    Pentium D is a 64 bit processor, but you installed a 32 bit version of Ubuntu which is the default download.

    You dont need 4Gb to use 64 bit either, but you need 64 bit to use 4GB or a PAE kernel.

    If you have 1 Gb you can still use a 64 bit OS but you wont get much benefit.

    You will need to reinstall if you want x64, there is no upgrade path.
    Feel Free to Bitcoin Tip: 135Rp4pwwYTHEJ4u8bxKaDQiC91N9LUoV2

    Backtrack - Giving machine guns to monkeys since 2006
    Kali-Linux - Adding a grenade launcher to the machine guns since 2013

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Beans
    20

    Re: amd64 or i368

    Cool. Thanks very much for help. I understand now. Cheers, Paul.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    The Left Coast of the USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: amd64 or i368

    Post the results of

    Code:
    cat /proc/cpuinfo

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Beans
    20

    Re: amd64 or i368

    Code:
    paul@paul-ESPRIMO-P:~$ cat /proc/cpuinfo
    processor       : 0
    vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
    cpu family      : 15
    model           : 4
    model name      : Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 2.80GHz
    stepping        : 7
    microcode       : 0x3
    cpu MHz         : 2793.106
    cache size      : 1024 KB
    physical id     : 0
    siblings        : 2
    core id         : 0
    cpu cores       : 2
    apicid          : 0
    initial apicid  : 0
    fdiv_bug        : no
    hlt_bug         : no
    f00f_bug        : no
    coma_bug        : no
    fpu             : yes
    fpu_exception   : yes
    cpuid level     : 5
    wp              : yes
    flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx lm constant_tsc pebs bts pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl cid cx16 xtpr lahf_lm
    bogomips        : 5586.21
    clflush size    : 64
    cache_alignment : 128
    address sizes   : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
    power management:
    
    processor       : 1
    vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
    cpu family      : 15
    model           : 4
    model name      : Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 2.80GHz
    stepping        : 7
    microcode       : 0x3
    cpu MHz         : 2793.106
    cache size      : 1024 KB
    physical id     : 0
    siblings        : 2
    core id         : 1
    cpu cores       : 2
    apicid          : 1
    initial apicid  : 1
    fdiv_bug        : no
    hlt_bug         : no
    f00f_bug        : no
    coma_bug        : no
    fpu             : yes
    fpu_exception   : yes
    cpuid level     : 5
    wp              : yes
    flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx lm constant_tsc pebs bts pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl cid cx16 xtpr lahf_lm
    bogomips        : 5586.21
    clflush size    : 64
    cache_alignment : 128
    address sizes   : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
    power management:
    This is what it says.
    Last edited by QIII; March 21st, 2013 at 11:58 PM. Reason: Added code flags.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •