Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: VM's not getting past the install step.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Beans
    21

    VM's not getting past the install step.

    Hello all,

    After selecting which .iso ( I've tried both LinuxMint 14 and Fedora 18) to create the vm with, the install seems to just freeze and nothing happens. I've researched a bit, and I haven't seen anyone with this specific problem, so I'm sure it's something I'm doing (or not doing). Any help would be appreciated. Both times, i've assigned 8gb hhd's and 2BG of base memory to the individual vm's. I'm currently using Ubuntu 12.10. I've also noticed that I don't have the "Enable 2D or 3D acceleration" boxes checked. If any additional information is needed, please let me know.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    12o4/14o4
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: VM's not getting past the install step.

    2 gig of ram? How much ram (total) do you have?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Beans
    21

    Re: VM's not getting past the install step.

    I have a total of 8GB

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    12o4/14o4
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: VM's not getting past the install step.

    Without any error report, Im just checking out the basics so bear with me

    You installed the packages "dmks" and "build-essential"?

    Did you install vBox from the site or the software center?

    Try opening virtualbox in terminal and see if it will give you some errors.

    And did you look for a virtualization option in BIOS? Some boxes have it, some don't.
    Last edited by ibjsb4; March 16th, 2013 at 05:38 PM. Reason: typo

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Beans
    21

    Re: VM's not getting past the install step.

    I believe I installed it from the software center. I ran it in a terminal, and no errors were reported. I haven't looked for a visualization option in bios, I will check to see. The packages "dmks" and "build-essential" I'm not sure if they were installed or not. Is there a way to check?

    Edit: I checked the BIOS, no options for visualization (or virtualization).
    Last edited by Malo Kingi; March 16th, 2013 at 05:32 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    12o4/14o4
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: VM's not getting past the install step.

    The packages "dmks" and "build-essential" I'm not sure if they were installed or not. Is there a way to check?
    In terminal:

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install dkms build-essential
    And reboot or logout

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    12o4/14o4
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: VM's not getting past the install step.

    Also if you installed from the software center, make sure "virtualbox-guest-additions-iso" is installed.

    What vBox version are you running?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Beans
    21

    Re: VM's not getting past the install step.

    Looks like they were installed. Version is 4.1.18. Virtualbox-guest-additions-iso is also installed and up to date.

    Code:
    Reading package lists... DoneBuilding dependency tree       
    Reading state information... Done
    build-essential is already the newest version.
    build-essential set to manually installed.
    dkms is already the newest version.
    dkms set to manually installed.
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 14 not upgraded.
    Last edited by Malo Kingi; March 16th, 2013 at 05:59 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    12o4/14o4
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: VM's not getting past the install step.

    Have you logged out since the install?

    And are you trying to install the guest from a CD or your hard drive?

    So far it all looks good.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Beans
    21

    Re: VM's not getting past the install step.

    I've logged out and restarted multiple times since the install. I'm trying to install the guest from the .iso's I have on my hdd. I thought it may have been the .iso at first, but both of them stop at the same point during the install. Thanks again for all the assistance you're giving me trying to narrow this issue down .

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •