Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: RTNETLINK answers: File exists problem ubuntu 12.04

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    RTNETLINK answers: File exists problem ubuntu 12.04

    Hi guys i have a ubuntu server 12.04 where i have configured two interfaces (need to configure 5 in total).
    But when i restart the network it says

    RTNETLINK answers: File exists.

    What is it complaining about?
    I cant really se anything in /var/log/syslog that could indicate the error.

    My configuration looks as follows
    Code:
    auto lo eth0 eth1
    
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    iface eth0 inet static
    address 172.16.1.10
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    network 172.16.1.0
    broadcast 172.16.1.255
    gateway 172.16.1.1
    
    iface eth1 inet static
    address 10.1.0.203
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    network 10.1.0.0
    broadcast 10.1.0.255
    gateway 10.1.0.1
    If i comment out eth1 and its configuration, interface eth0 stats up just fine.
    But when i un-comment eth1 and its config i get the error.

    Even tho under ifconfig eth1 i can see the interface as configured with ip address, netmask and so on. But i cannot
    sudo ifdown eth1 = ifdown: interface eth1 not configured.

    ANYONE WHO CAN HELP ME
    It is driving me crasy ,)

    Thanks on advance.
    Kind regards.
    Last edited by Drenriza; March 15th, 2013 at 02:15 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    5,868

    Re: RTNETLINK answers: File exists problem ubuntu 12.04

    maybe udev is somehow assigning 2 names (both eth0 and eth1) to the same device? what does

    Code:
    cat /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules
    say?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: RTNETLINK answers: File exists problem ubuntu 12.04

    Quote Originally Posted by steeldriver View Post
    maybe udev is somehow assigning 2 names (both eth0 and eth1) to the same device? what does

    Code:
    cat /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules
    say?

    It's empty

    Route -n has the output of
    Code:
    Destination     Gateway     Genmask     Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
    0.0.0.0           172.16.1.1 0.0.0.0         UG    100     0   0     eth0
    10.1.0.0         0.0.0.0      255.255.255.0 U      0      0   0      eth1
    172.16.1.0     0.0.0.0      255.255.255.0  U     0      0    0    eth0
    Is the above correct??

    Why dont it get a
    0.0.0.0 10.1.0.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth1 ??

    EDIT
    So fiddled around with it some more. And when i got the configuration as above, eth0 and eth1 activated.
    It says RTNETLINK answers: File exist.

    But under ifconfig you can see that eth1 got a ip, netmask and BC address.
    route -n is above in the code snippet.

    When i ping 172.16.1.10(ip address of eth0) i get a Request timeout for icmp_seq 0
    When i ping 10.1.0.203(ip address eth1) i get a 64 bytes from 10.1.0.203: icmp_seq=0 ttl=64 time=0.660 ms.

    If i remove eth1 config in /etc/networking/interfaces i cannot ping eth1 (ofcourse) and i can ping eth0 again

    What on earth is going on........
    Last edited by Drenriza; March 15th, 2013 at 03:56 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Washington DC
    Beans
    2,186
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: RTNETLINK answers: File exists problem ubuntu 12.04

    Only use gateway for one that you are using for default gw.

    Network is deduced from the mask so its unnecessary - and getting to an ip addresses on a known networks is done via arp.

    Code:
    auto lo eth0 eth1
    
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    iface eth0 inet static
    address 172.16.1.10
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    
    iface eth1 inet static
    address 10.1.0.203
    netmask 255.255.255.0

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: RTNETLINK answers: File exists problem ubuntu 12.04

    Quote Originally Posted by iponeverything View Post
    Only use gateway for one that you are using for default gw.

    Network is deduced from the mask so its unnecessary - and getting to an ip addresses on a known networks is done via arp.

    Code:
    auto lo eth0 eth1
    
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    iface eth0 inet static
    address 172.16.1.10
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    
    iface eth1 inet static
    address 10.1.0.203
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    Sure but if leaving your own network you need a GW to point at. Thus it is their, since i got a address scope subnettet to 7 different vlans and divided into 7 different networks.

    Tho does this not resolve my issue when setting up 2 different nics. Where i get the RTNETLINK answers: File exists. What causes this issue and how is it resolved?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: RTNETLINK answers: File exists problem ubuntu 12.04

    Well i have tried in a virtual machine and on a physical machine and i cannot get two nics to work at the same time without the error. Is it that uncommon in Ubuntu server edition to have two nics?
    Last edited by Drenriza; March 16th, 2013 at 09:58 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Washington DC
    Beans
    2,186
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: RTNETLINK answers: File exists problem ubuntu 12.04

    Quote Originally Posted by Drenriza View Post
    Sure but if leaving your own network you need a GW to point at. Thus it is their, since i got a address scope subnettet to 7 different vlans and divided into 7 different networks.
    You don't have a default gw for every interface.

    Quote Originally Posted by Drenriza View Post
    Tho does this not resolve my issue when setting up 2 different nics. Where i get the RTNETLINK answers: File exists. What causes this issue and how is it resolved?
    let me give you clue here, since you clearly need one: do a "man interfaces"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Washington DC
    Beans
    2,186
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: RTNETLINK answers: File exists problem ubuntu 12.04

    seriously -

    its quite easy to configure the interfaces by hand using the ifconfig and route commands - try it, and you will see where your "error" is.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: RTNETLINK answers: File exists problem ubuntu 12.04

    Quote Originally Posted by iponeverything View Post
    seriously -

    its quite easy to configure the interfaces by hand using the ifconfig and route commands - try it, and you will see where your "error" is.
    I configured the interfaces in /etc/network/interfaces.
    You NEED!
    IP
    Netmask
    Gateway
    and network (it might be calculated automatically, but u still need it so it is their).

    If their is a error in this because ubuntu has some weird setup, then just say so.
    Instead of.

    let me give you clue here, since you clearly need one: do a "man interfaces"

    The above is not helpfull. Since i already by hand configured the network.
    And configuring a network by hand, is easy yes. Your telling someone who has used cisco equitment the past 5 years on the CCNA and CCNP level.

    And created a 3 layer network with 7 VLSM networks, several security layers, HSRP, fail over links, bundled links with load balancing, DMZ zone, RSTP and a interior gateway protocol and so on.
    Which all works just fine.

    But ty for the info.
    its quite easy to configure the interfaces by hand

    Edit
    Ow ye. And the above is just my home test setup.
    Last edited by Drenriza; March 18th, 2013 at 06:01 PM. Reason: removing the insults.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: RTNETLINK answers: File exists problem ubuntu 12.04

    Solved my issue. Installed Debian core system and configured it as i wanted. No issues.

    Obviously ubuntu is making some sort of issues for itself, which i dont have the patience to solve.
    When it is unnecessary. so should i say, use a "real" server system instead?
    Last edited by Drenriza; March 18th, 2013 at 03:01 PM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •