Page 15 of 24 FirstFirst ... 51314151617 ... LastLast
Results 141 to 150 of 239

Thread: Anyone got MIR working in raring?

  1. #141
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ExodusHair<Čubura
    Beans
    3,855
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Anyone got MIR working in raring?

    Quote Originally Posted by bcbc View Post
    nomodeset still works for me...
    If it is ATI at Your place, I stand corrected...

  2. #142
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    North Vancouver
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Edubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Anyone got MIR working in raring?

    I have an intel card.

  3. #143
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ExodusHair<Čubura
    Beans
    3,855
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Anyone got MIR working in raring?

    Quote Originally Posted by bcbc View Post
    I have an intel card.
    If You read my post that I mentioned and article that I gave URL for, You'll see that it is announced only for ATI and NVidia, as far as I've understood, and as I wrote...

  4. #144
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    North Vancouver
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Edubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Anyone got MIR working in raring?

    Maybe I should read that. zzzzz

    OKay I'll go back on topic now.

  5. #145
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    London, England
    Beans
    6,774
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Anyone got MIR working in raring?

    Depreciate = a) to lower, diminish the value of; b) to undervalue, disparage, make little of; c) to decline in market value, or in price; to loose quality, or efficiency, as through hard wear.

    Why software developers should use this word to mean that they will no longer develop some code, or keep it up to date but will let it fall out of use, I do not know. But I do not think that it means that all of a sudden these F6 options will stop working on machines that have non-latest hardware. I do think that at some time in the future the F6 options may not be of any use and should be removed from the Installer. Of course, I may be wrong about this. Completely wrong. But I think we are seeing on this forum (other sections) posts where people are saying that they tried nomodeset and they still get a black screen.
    It is a machine. It is more stupid than we are. It will not stop us from doing stupid things.
    Ubuntu user #33,200. Linux user #530,530


  6. #146
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    North Vancouver
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Edubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Anyone got MIR working in raring?

    It should be deprecate. I suspect someone made a typo somewhere

  7. #147
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Beta Testing in Canada
    Beans
    5,504
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Anyone got MIR working in raring?

    Quote Originally Posted by ventrical View Post
    Interesting. On one of my machines with ATi Radeon 1200x series I was able to use type-mir in the lightdm.conf file and even reboot into that file. Lightdm did not come up (black screen with blinking cursor) but I got all my terminals working. I was able to switch back to different terminals and then remove type =mir with nano. While I was in tty1 I ran (sleep 5; mir_eglplasma) & mir ; kill $! and got the following. An inverted Ubuntu-Desktop with a slipt ) Now things are getting interesting indeed lol

    Edit:

    I just realized somthing . It may be nothing but in the morning I am going to try and set my screen resolution to a lower scale , experiment there and see what happens.

    Edit:

    Can't set resolution because display widget will not come up .. Wrong driver I think.

    Update:

    I had to remove my NVidia GeForce 218/210 graphics adapter to enable the 'display' tool to work from settings in raring. So Now I can again experiemnt to see if I can get Mir to work with 'type=mir' in lightdm.conf.
    This is Rolling Release
    Warnings for New Beta Testers& Helpful Terminal Commands:
    Running Trusty /devel/@ 5.120GHz32bit/ Please put [ prefix] on New Threads!

  8. #148
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Beta Testing in Canada
    Beans
    5,504
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Anyone got MIR working in raring?

    Quote Originally Posted by bcbc View Post
    It should be deprecate. I suspect someone made a typo somewhere
    Deprecate is synonymous with depreciate.
    This is Rolling Release
    Warnings for New Beta Testers& Helpful Terminal Commands:
    Running Trusty /devel/@ 5.120GHz32bit/ Please put [ prefix] on New Threads!

  9. #149
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    North Vancouver
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Edubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Anyone got MIR working in raring?

    If by synonymous you mean completely different

  10. #150
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Beta Testing in Canada
    Beans
    5,504
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Anyone got MIR working in raring?

    Quote Originally Posted by bcbc View Post
    If by synonymous you mean completely different
    the same...

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Synonym
    This is Rolling Release
    Warnings for New Beta Testers& Helpful Terminal Commands:
    Running Trusty /devel/@ 5.120GHz32bit/ Please put [ prefix] on New Threads!

Page 15 of 24 FirstFirst ... 51314151617 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •