Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Broadcom BCM43228 problems.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    597
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Broadcom BCM43228 problems.

    I have a Broadcom BCM43228 Wireless N Dual Band mini PCIE Network card and it does not work out of the box in Ubuntu 12.10. I used jockey-kde ("Restricted drivers") to install a proprietary driver for it and now it works. However my network card and access point support Wireless N 2.4 Ghz and 5 Ghz dual band but it only connects in Wireless G 2.4GHz single band mode.

    Any ideas on how I can fixed this?

    I thought 13.04 might have a newer driver and work better but that didn't improve anything.

    Also dmesg shows up a lot of errors constantly
    Code:
    [ 1445.729758] ERROR @wl_cfg80211_get_station : Could not get rssi (-1)
    [ 1447.724091] ERROR @wl_cfg80211_get_station : Could not get rate (-1)
    [ 1447.724097] ERROR @wl_cfg80211_get_station : Could not get rssi (-1)
    [ 1449.721725] ERROR @wl_cfg80211_get_station : Could not get rate (-1)
    [ 1449.721731] ERROR @wl_cfg80211_get_station : Could not get rssi (-1)
    [ 1451.719433] ERROR @wl_cfg80211_get_station : Could not get rate (-1)
    [ 1451.719439] ERROR @wl_cfg80211_get_station : Could not get rssi (-1)
    [ 1451.719518] ERROR @wl_cfg80211_get_station : Could not get rate (-1)
    [ 1451.719519] ERROR @wl_cfg80211_get_station : Could not get rssi (-1)
    [ 1453.716957] ERROR @wl_cfg80211_get_station : Could not get rate (-1)
    [ 1453.716963] ERROR @wl_cfg80211_get_station : Could not get rssi (-1)
    Last edited by kio_http; March 11th, 2013 at 04:37 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Beans
    5,282
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Broadcom BCM43228 problems.

    Imho it only works on channels 1-11 in 2,4 GHz mode. Check "iwlist chan"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    597
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Broadcom BCM43228 problems.

    Quote Originally Posted by praseodym View Post
    Imho it only works on channels 1-11 in 2,4 GHz mode. Check "iwlist chan"
    Code:
    eth1      32 channels in total; available frequencies :          Channel 01 : 2.412 GHz
              Channel 02 : 2.417 GHz
              Channel 03 : 2.422 GHz
              Channel 04 : 2.427 GHz
              Channel 05 : 2.432 GHz
              Channel 06 : 2.437 GHz
              Channel 07 : 2.442 GHz
              Channel 08 : 2.447 GHz
              Channel 09 : 2.452 GHz
              Channel 10 : 2.457 GHz
              Channel 11 : 2.462 GHz
              Channel 12 : 2.467 GHz
              Channel 13 : 2.472 GHz
              Channel 14 : 2.484 GHz
              Channel 36 : 5.18 GHz
              Channel 38 : 5.19 GHz
              Channel 40 : 5.2 GHz
              Channel 42 : 5.21 GHz
              Channel 44 : 5.22 GHz
              Channel 46 : 5.23 GHz
              Channel 48 : 5.24 GHz
              Channel 149 : 5.745 GHz
              Channel 150 : 5.75 GHz
              Channel 151 : 5.755 GHz
              Channel 152 : 5.76 GHz
              Channel 153 : 5.765 GHz
              Channel 154 : 5.77 GHz
              Channel 155 : 5.775 GHz
              Channel 156 : 5.78 GHz
              Channel 157 : 5.785 GHz
              Channel 158 : 5.79 GHz
              Channel 159 : 5.795 GHz
              Current Frequency:2.412 GHz (Channel 1)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    597
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    597
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Beans
    5,282
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Broadcom BCM43228 problems.

    Did you ever install the "backports-modules"? If yes, uninstallt them and reboot.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    597
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Broadcom BCM43228 problems.

    Quote Originally Posted by praseodym View Post
    Did you ever install the "backports-modules"? If yes, uninstallt them and reboot.
    No.

    And I can't find any backports-modules package.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •