Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Help with configuration of Virtualbox bridged mode

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Beans
    6

    Help with configuration of Virtualbox bridged mode

    Hi,

    I currently am running Ubuntu 12.10 server and I have install Virtualbox Headless. Within Virtualbox, I am running Centos as a guest OS. I'm finding that if I run in Nat mode, I am able to connect out to the internet, but I actually need to run in bridged mode as I need my internal network to be able to access the guest. I am able to ping the guest from the host and ping the host from the guest in bridged mode, but I am not able to ping anything beyond the host. I am wondering if I am missing something and some help would be very much appreciated.

    Anthony

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Metro-ATL
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Help with configuration of Virtualbox bridged mode

    Try network troubleshooting 101.
    Use IP addresses for everything - including pinging internet locations.
    Could it be that DNS isn't setup on the client?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Beans
    6

    Re: Help with configuration of Virtualbox bridged mode

    Thanks for the reply. When troubleshooting, I am pinging other devices by ip address. Like I said, I'm able to ping my host ip address, but nothing else in my network.

    Anthony

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Metro Boston
    Beans
    8,833
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Help with configuration of Virtualbox bridged mode

    In bridged mode both the host and guest should have addresses in the same subnet as the rest of your network. If you have a DHCP server somewhere to handle address assignments, that should have been set up correctly to begin with.

    What is the IP address and subnet mask for the host and guest? Can you show us the guest's routing table with "route -n"?

    One alternative to bridged mode is to use NAT, then run iptables on the host and have it forward specific ports back to the guest.
    If you ask for help, please have the courtesy to check for responses and thank the people who helped you.

    Blog · Linode System Administration Guides · Android Apps for Ubuntu Users

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Beans
    6

    Re: Help with configuration of Virtualbox bridged mode

    Both the host and the guest are on the same network (192.168.2.0). They are also both configured with static ip's.

    Here is the output of the route -n on the guest:

    root@pbx:~ $ route -n
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
    192.168.2.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
    169.254.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.0.0 U 1002 0 0 eth0
    0.0.0.0 192.168.2.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0



    Here is the output of the Host ifconfig -a:

    atwillia@cits-server:/etc/network$ ifconfig -a
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 8c:89:a5:32:e1:6f
    inet addr:192.168.2.100 Bcast:192.168.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::8e89:a5ff:fe32:e16f/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:5287045 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:8164303 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:1512845294 (1.5 GB) TX bytes:8909747827 (8.9 GB)
    Interrupt:42 Base address:0x6000

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:11:0a:57:bc:32
    BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    eth2 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:11:0a:57:bc:33
    BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:377717 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:377717 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:1719781209 (1.7 GB) TX bytes:1719781209 (1.7 GB)


    I have 3 NIC cards but I'm only using one.


    Also here is the output of my guest ifconfig -a:

    root@pbx:~ $ ifconfig -a
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 08:00:27:5A:64:9A
    inet addr:192.168.2.101 Bcast:192.168.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::a00:27ff:fe5a:649a/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:1956 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:1814 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:225299 (220.0 KiB) TX bytes:84285 (82.3 KiB)
    Interrupt:10 Base address:0xd020

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:2438 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:2438 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:221385 (216.1 KiB) TX bytes:221385 (216.1 KiB)



    Anthony

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Metro-ATL
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Help with configuration of Virtualbox bridged mode

    What is the routing table on the client?

    Are you positive that the VM is connected to the correct NIC on the hostOS settings? I had to ask. I've accidentally selected the wrong NIC in the VM settings myself.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Beans
    6

    Re: Help with configuration of Virtualbox bridged mode

    Quote Originally Posted by TheFu View Post
    What is the routing table on the client?

    Are you positive that the VM is connected to the correct NIC on the hostOS settings? I had to ask. I've accidentally selected the wrong NIC in the VM settings myself.
    Yes I am positive I'm bridged to eth0.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Metro-ATL
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Help with configuration of Virtualbox bridged mode

    Quote Originally Posted by ATW72 View Post
    Yes I am positive I'm bridged to eth0.
    What is the routing table on the client?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Beans
    6

    Re: Help with configuration of Virtualbox bridged mode

    Quote Originally Posted by TheFu View Post
    What is the routing table on the client?

    root@pbx:~ $ route -n
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
    192.168.2.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
    169.254.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.0.0 U 1002 0 0 eth0
    0.0.0.0 192.168.2.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Metro-ATL
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Help with configuration of Virtualbox bridged mode

    Quote Originally Posted by ATW72 View Post
    root@pbx:~ $ route -n
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
    192.168.2.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
    169.254.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.0.0 U 1002 0 0 eth0
    0.0.0.0 192.168.2.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0
    The only thing that I see different from my setups is that the metric for the gateway is not higher than the metric for the LANs.

    Also, it would be helpful if you wrapped column data in a code-not-code so we can more easily read the results.
    Code:
    $ route
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
    default         rt1             0.0.0.0         UG    100    0        0 eth0
    192.168.1.0     *               255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 eth0
    See how much easier this is to read?
    Code:
    $ route
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
    192.168.2.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 virbr1
    172.20.1.0      0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 bus0
    192.168.1.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 or0
    192.168.122.0   0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 virbr0
    0.0.0.0         192.168.1.1     0.0.0.0         UG    1      0        0 or0
    0.0.0.0         172.20.1.1      0.0.0.0         UG    100    0        0 bus0
    And this?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •