Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Lost data

Hybrid View

Beans

Angry Lost data

Hi All
    "For Every Problem there will be a Solution" (Hoping So)
    I am very new to Linux but know very few commands and regular user of Windows. Since my windows making some troubles in booting from last two months and for my research purpose I require linux to run some software, I decided to install Ubuntu 12.10 (Latest available Version). Yesterday I installed it by replacing Windows where I thought It'll format only C drive like during installation of Windows. Later I understood that was my misunderstanding. Now I was unable to find the drivers like in Windows and unable to see my Data in other drives like D and E. How can I get it back and How can I see drivers like in windows. Please help me in getting my Files back if possible. I am losing my one year Research data. Please help me if you can.

Thank you

- Tulasi
    Last edited by ThulasiS; March 8th, 2013 at 01:18 PM.

Beans

Re: Lost data

Welcome to the forums ThulasiS,

First of all, avoid using that drive to avoid further damage to the data.
    Follow this guide and let us know if you are having any problem in understanding or following it : http://www.cgsecurity.org/wiki/TestDisk_Step_By_Step
    Varun
    Help others by marking threads as [SOLVED], if they are. (See how)
    Wireless Script | Use Code Tags

Beans

Hi Varun
    What are the requirements to start testdisk?
    I understood how to do from the link you sent. But from where I have to start like Pendrive or I have install in current OS? I didn't understand and I am confusing.
    I am scared if I do something wrong I may not able to recover data. Plz help me

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release