Page 6 of 17 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 165

Thread: 3.9 is here...

  1. #51
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Beans
    140

    Re: 3.9 is here...

    I don't know if this is either a nvidia 313 issue or a linux 3.9-rc3 issue, but with cinnamon or gnome 3 if I click on any applets the environment freezes.. can still restart by ctrl+alt+f1 but that get's tiresome quick...

    I want to know if this is a nvidia issue or a 3.9 issue causing gnome or cinnamon to freeze?

    Kernel 3.9-rc3
    Environment: Gnome 3.8, Cinnamon-latest

  2. #52
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Algonquin, IL USA
    Beans
    672
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Thumbs up Re: 3.9 is here...

    RC 3 installed just fine on my Brand New 2013 Dell Inspiron 15 3521 Laptop PC.Screenshot from 2013-03-21 18:30:15.jpg
    2013 Dell Inspiron 15 3521 Laptop, 2010 Dell Inspiron 1012 Mini Net Book, 2010 Dell Inspiron Zino HD 400, Sprint Samsung Galaxy S4, and Apple IPad Mini WIFI Only.

  3. #53
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,835
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: 3.9 is here...

    3.9-rc4 mainline kernel is available now...

    Linkage: http://kernel.ubuntu.com/~kernel-ppa....9-rc4-raring/
    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

  4. #54
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Beans
    140

    Re: 3.9 is here...

    Didn't work so well on ubuntu (none of the 3.9 branch has...) but has worked on Gentoo, I'll report any bugs I find.

  5. #55
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    2

    Re: 3.9 is here...

    I'm on Linux Mint 14 and am experiencing the exact issue you are!
    I upgraded to the new kernel, then to a open-source version of the NVIDIA drivers, and Cinnamon 1.67 no longer loads.
    I'm in classic GNOME at the moment.

  6. #56
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,835
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: 3.9 is here...

    3.9-rc5 mainline kernel is available now...

    Linkage: http://kernel.ubuntu.com/~kernel-ppa....9-rc5-raring/
    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

  7. #57
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Beans
    140

    Re: 3.9 is here...

    Quote Originally Posted by maya923 View Post
    I'm on Linux Mint 14 and am experiencing the exact issue you are!
    I upgraded to the new kernel, then to a open-source version of the NVIDIA drivers, and Cinnamon 1.67 no longer loads.
    I'm in classic GNOME at the moment.
    I honestly can't stand nouveau, it's 3d performance is laughable... very slow in gimp(large brushes), but works perfectly with nvidias drivers.
    Never did get nvidia drivers to work properly under ubuntu, works fine in arch or gentoo.

  8. #58
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Portugal
    Beans
    23
    Distro
    Dapper Drake Testing/

    Re: 3.9 is here...

    Quote Originally Posted by VinDSL View Post
    3.9-rc5 mainline kernel is available now...

    Linkage: http://kernel.ubuntu.com/~kernel-ppa....9-rc5-raring/
    For me RC4 is more stable than RC5.
    I've tried RC5 but removed it and went back to RC4 wich is very stable.

    With RC5 I had a problem when I plug an USB pen. The screen goes black and then it shows two windows with the contents of the USB pen, then the bug repport reports a problem with Compiz. In the end the USB pen is unusable, because it's in read only mode :s
    With RC4 nothing of this happens.
    With RC5 sometimes lightdm does not start after boot, and get some more screen flickering.

    So, I'll stay with RC4 for now, wich is very stable.

  9. #59
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Beans
    140

    Re: 3.9 is here...

    I have no stability issues with rc5, accept for one..
    I get no sound!

    Anybody getting sound with RC5? I may be going back to rc4 as I know it works.

  10. #60
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ExodusHair<Čubura
    Beans
    3,883
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: 3.9 is here...

    Quote Originally Posted by Rukiri View Post
    Anybody getting sound with RC5?
    Yes. Also with daily and drm-next...

Page 6 of 17 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •