Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Installation fail

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    24

    Installation fail

    Sorry for bothoring the community with another one of Bradley's dumb questions haha but I wanted to test 13.04 do some testing provide some devolopers some tests and logs but for the life of me I can't get it install well I boot from USB use ran to edit add the nomodeset like I always have to do now press enter (to boot it from USB) it shows the Ubuntu slash screen like normal the little.menu dots is loading then all suddenly it freezes the little dots freeze white and there's a little Spinny cirlse thing in the top right corner and it never loads any ideas I would love to get this working?!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    From the land down under
    Beans
    1,246
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Damn just cant get this installed

    Quote Originally Posted by Bradley129 View Post
    Sorry for bothoring the community with another one of Bradley's dumb questions haha
    The only dumb question is one not asked

    Quote Originally Posted by Bradley129 View Post
    but I wanted to test 13.04 do some testing provide some devolopers some tests and logs but for the life of me I can't get it install well I boot from USB use ran to edit add the nomodeset like I always have to do now press enter (to boot it from USB) it shows the Ubuntu slash screen like normal the little.menu dots is loading then all suddenly it freezes the little dots freeze white and there's a little Spinny cirlse thing in the top right corner and it never loads any ideas I would love to get this working?!
    What hardware are you trying to install it on and what iso image did you download?
    // Blog

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    London, England
    Beans
    6,399
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Damn just cant get this installed

    I sometimes have to put irqpoll into the boot paramenters. Other times I had to tick all the F6 options or some combination of them. Regards.
    It is a machine. It is more stupid than we are. It will not stop us from doing stupid things.
    Ubuntu user #33,200. Linux user #530,530


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Gnome12o4/LXQt14o4
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Damn just cant get this installed

    I have had this problem in the past and found that just doing a "release-upgrade -d" from the previous version to be the easy way out.

    https://help.ubuntu.com/12.04/server...upgrading.html

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Beta Testing in Canada
    Beans
    5,423
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Installation fail

    Appears as if it is an obsoleted graphics card - no way to tell until we get some lspci info.
    This is Rolling Release
    Warnings for New Beta Testers& Helpful Terminal Commands:
    Running Trusty /devel/@ 5.120GHz32bit/ Please put [ prefix] on New Threads!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    24

    Re: Installation fail

    Its a hp dv6 it has a a4-3305m Dual core Proccesor which does support pae and a radeon 6480g GPU 4gb of ddr3 RAM and everything else is based off from the amd Hudson culture I'm currently running Ubuntu 12.04.2 and its runs fine I was able to boot up install graphics drivers no problem okay 3d games everything so what seems to be the problem with 13.04?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    24

    Re: Damn just cant get this installed

    Quote Originally Posted by ibjsb4 View Post
    I have had this problem in the past and found that just doing a "release-upgrade -d" from the previous version to be the easy way out.

    https://help.ubuntu.com/12.04/server...upgrading.html
    But if I do that won't I risk my fallback 12.04 install?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Beta Testing in Canada
    Beans
    5,423
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Installation fail

    My next questions are:

    1. Is it a zsynced iso or a daily raw image that you are using?
    2. is it 64bit or 32 bit iso?
    3. I assume VGA pallete snoop is off in BIOS?


    I have 3 radeon systems and I have seen what you have described. I doubt you can get to terminal from where you are at.

    if you are using 64bit iso then try 32bit , or , if you are using 32bit (and your system is 64bit capable) then try 64bit iso.
    Last edited by ventrical; March 4th, 2013 at 06:05 PM.
    This is Rolling Release
    Warnings for New Beta Testers& Helpful Terminal Commands:
    Running Trusty /devel/@ 5.120GHz32bit/ Please put [ prefix] on New Threads!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Beta Testing in Canada
    Beans
    5,423
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Damn just cant get this installed

    Quote Originally Posted by Bradley129 View Post
    But if I do that won't I risk my fallback 12.04 install?
    I assume that this is correct. Unless you have a btrfs system format.
    This is Rolling Release
    Warnings for New Beta Testers& Helpful Terminal Commands:
    Running Trusty /devel/@ 5.120GHz32bit/ Please put [ prefix] on New Threads!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Slovakia | Czech Republic
    Beans
    40
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Installation fail

    You could install fresh 12.10 alongside your 12.04 and upgrade that safely

    or I did not get something?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •