In File/Revert, what does revert do?

Somehow I opened two copies of Gedit while opening 3 files. One has two tabs for two files, the other has one tab for the third file. What would cause this to happen? I only want one copy of gedit open with all 3 files in that one copy with 3 tabs for the 3 files.