Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: What do you use your Ubuntu for!?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

What do you use your Ubuntu for!?

I'm sure there have been plenty of posts like this before, but I just wanted a nice discussion about how people are actually using Ubuntu.

I've been using Ubuntu since 8.04(ish) but only recently have I completely nuked my Windows install and gone solely for a Ubuntu setup. I work as a web developer so a lot of my time is devoted to researching and developing sites in ASP.Net, PHP, and Javascript (yes it's real programming). So I love the simplicity of Ubuntu and the speed and power it gives me.

I have to confess I haven't been able to completely get rid of Windows, as I need Visual Studio (yes MonoDevelop's good, but Visual Studio it ain't!). So I keep a virtual machine or two about.

I love my Ubuntu install and I wanted to know what different and interesting ways people use Ubuntu.
    Registered Ubuntu User: #14595

Beans

Re: What do you use your Ubuntu for!?

For everything here. No Windows to be found.

We run two retail stores with ubuntu machines. We do POS/Accounting/Inventory control with them.

We also do desktop publishing for all in store printed materials. Signs/menus/notices, things like that.

We have a server that handles all printing from all locations (2 stores and home), email server. I have all of my email accounts forwarded to that machine for archival purposes. It also runs as a mineserver server for my son.

At home we have a dedicated media server delivering all of our movies including our home movie collection.

Another machine holds a whole bunch of drive space and acts as a central backup server.

So, as you can see, pretty much everything is done in Ubuntu, or a flavour thereof depending on the power of the machine.

Beans

A coffee coaster
    Backtrack - Giving machine guns to monkeys since 2006
    Kali-Linux - Adding a grenade launcher to the machine guns since 2013

Beans
    Distro