Thread: Need to upgrade dpkg on 10.04 amd64

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Need to upgrade dpkg on 10.04 amd64

Hi, folks. I have encountered a scenario where I need a newer version of dpkg (one that supports xz compression) in order to keep using a certain repository. I've found a PPA that has a .deb of the newer version built. Are there any potential pitfalls to this scenario that I might be overlooking? I've used dpkg countless times to perform a task, but I've never tried to manually upgrade it before. Does anyone have previous experience with this?

Beans
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: Need to upgrade dpkg on 10.04 amd64

Quote Originally Posted by tixetsal View Post
    Hi, folks. I have encountered a scenario where I need a newer version of dpkg (one that supports xz compression) in order to keep using a certain repository. I've found a PPA that has a .deb of the newer version built. Are there any potential pitfalls to this scenario that I might be overlooking? I've used dpkg countless times to perform a task, but I've never tried to manually upgrade it before. Does anyone have previous experience with this?
    Aren't you patching all the programs on the system weekly using the built-in tool? Using dpkg directly is not needed.
    Code:
    $ sudo apt-get update
    $ sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
    should be all that you need to stay patched (kernel, OS and applications) until Apr 2015 if this is a server. If this is a desktop, you have until April of this year and it is time to update to 12.04 LTS which does get 5 yrs support cycles.

Using dpkg directly when there are other dependencies involved is not safe unless you are an expert. I only use it directly for programs outside any PPA - perhaps 2 across all the machines that I manage.

OTOH, if you're already doing this, then it is time to get the newer dpkg source code and start compiling yourself.

Are there any potential pitfalls to this scenario that I might be overlooking?