Thread: Steam Causing System to Freeze (Alt+SysRq+R,E,I,S,U,B doesn't work)

Beans

Steam Causing System to Freeze (Alt+SysRq+R,E,I,S,U,B doesn't work)

Okay, so I've been using Ubuntu for a few months now (since fall of last year), but I still consider myself a newbie. So this problem started occurring a few days ago, and I've kept trying to test to determine what is wrong.

When running the beta version (I realize that in itself could be a problem) of Steam for Ubuntu downloaded through the Ubuntu Software Center from the link on steampowered.com, my system will often totally freeze. At first, I will be able to move the mouse, but it will not interact with any of the objects on the screen. A few seconds later, my mouse will stop moving. Once this happens, I have to hard reboot. I've tried Alt+F2 and REISUB, but neither one works. Absolutely nothing I do will get the system to respond after the mouse stops working. I tried running Steam several times, and the same result happened. When not using Steam, my computer seems to run fine. I would like to use Steam, so I started looking up some info.

On their website, I found a support article that sounded similar to what was happening to me. It keeps freezing while I'm attempting to download Team Fortress 2. Looking into the file /etc/hosts like they suggested in their only solution, I found that I already had the line they had in my /etc/hosts file. So that's not it (and it seems to be talking about updating the client itself, not downloading games).

Upon further delving, I decided to look at my syslog with Log File Viewer and I found this (Deleted my computer's name between date and "kernel" in case you're wondering where it is.)
    Code:
    Feb 26 20:32:05  kernel: [ 8304.073034] ata3.00: exception Emask 0x0 SAct 0x0 SErr 0x0 action 0x6
    Feb 26 20:32:05 kernel: [ 8304.073042] ata3.00: BMDMA stat 0x26
    Feb 26 20:32:05 kernel: [ 8304.073050] ata3.00: failed command: WRITE DMA EXT