Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Translucent Terminal ubuntu 12.10

Beans

Translucent Terminal ubuntu 12.10

Hi all. First post. I HAVE NEVER USED LINUX BEFORE, but I have started reading the help file. I downloaded ubuntu 12.10 iso, wrote to disk and installed successfully. Now all the help I've tried to get is futile because my terminal is translucent. When I open the terminal, the terminal menu bar appears and when I move the mouse cursor over a section of the desktop the cursor changes to text, but no terminal window appears. I'm so frustrated because it seems I can't do anything without the terminal... Help Please...

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: Translucent Terminal ubuntu 12.10

A translucent terminal is actually a feature but it shouldn't be completely invisible. Can you find preferences in the menu bar and play a bit with the background and the text colour? Sometimes that helps.

You can do quite a lot without the terminal but the terminal is usually the most efficient way to get things done.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

First of all, a Warm Welcome to the forums interfacer!

About your problem-
    Quote Originally Posted by interfacer View Post
    and when I move the mouse cursor over a section of the desktop the cursor changes to text, but no terminal window appears.
    When the pointer does change to text cursor, does any text appear there if you click and start typing ?

Also, when you click on the area where it changes to text cursor, and then hover the mouse pointer over the Unity panel (the top black bar), can you access the Terminal menu items ? (File, Edit, View,...etc.)

If you can, then the transparency settings are under -
    Edit > Profile Preferences > Background tab

Let us know if you have problem accessing it.
    Last edited by varunendra; February 26th, 2013 at 12:58 PM.
    Varun
    Help others by marking threads as [SOLVED], if they are. (See how)
    Wireless Script | Use Code Tags