Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Internet problems - avahi / .local domain

Hybrid View

Beans

Angry Internet problems - avahi / .local domain

Hello all,

Please help! I'm in at the deep end learning linux on my new system 76!

My internet kind of works - I can email and I downloaded GIMP, but when I try and download VLC player I get " Network service discovery disabled - current network has a .local domain, which is not recommended + incompatible with Avahi network" - the same also occurs when trying to get updates.

I gather this is an ISP thing, not a Ubuntu problem - but can some of you kind folk please give me some nice clear (absolute beginner remember ) instructions for a work-around?

Mega kudos to anyone who can help me get up and running and starting to play with new toy properly!

Thanks for reading,

Gareth.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Lubuntu

Re: Internet problems - avahi / .local domain

Hello!
    What program gives you this message?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Do you only get the message or are you also actually unable to use the internet?

I've had that message myself before without it actually doing anything. Seems there are more people with that 'issue', see:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1109941

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

That message will come up if you are connected to the router but the router is not connected to the ISP. If we power on the router and the computer at the same time we may get that message if Ubuntu loads before the router has established the connection to the ISP. This can happen because Ubuntu will start to make a network connection before we get to the login screen.

Does this prevent you from downloading? Does it stop the downloading of updates? The disabling of Avahi should not make any difference on a machine that is not connected through the router to other computers. It does not affect my single machine in any way.