Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ftp server

Beans

Question ftp server

Hello,
    this is my first post on this forum and my really first attempt to build up my own server.
    I have never set up a server before so some things might not be obvious for me .

I have downloaded the Ubuntu server 12.04 version and I am willing to install it to my laptop to use it as a server with remote access over the internet.

My primary goals are:
    1. to have access with an FTP client over the internet to the files stored on the server
    2. and create (remotely) my own databases using mySQL

I would love if someone could tell me how to make this happen!

As I mentioned this is my first try to do something like that so please be as specific as you can.
    thanks a lot

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Re: ftp server

A good place to start is the sticky at the top of the server forum. Go to the Server 10.04 documentation.

A few more details on your setup will be helpful.

What type of client are you connecting with (Windows, Mac OSX, Linux)?
    How many users will be connecting?

FTP is not a secure protocol. You should be looking at SFTP for connections over the internet. This can be accomplished over ssh or using an FTP client like Filezilla's SFTP connection.

You can administer MySQL using the command line (via ssh) or you can install a frontend like PHPmyAdmin.

Get familiar using SSH.
    Nothing is ever easy, but if it is difficult you must be doing it wrong.

Beans

I am willing to use only windows to connect.
    I don't really care about the number of users. I would say just 2 at a time.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

Amor cuerdo, no es Amor.

Beans

I will go through the link that VW gave me about SSH.