Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Could it be that firewall blocks Skype?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Belgium
    Beans
    22
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Could it be that firewall blocks Skype?

    Hi i have bought an old pc secondhand from the net. It is an ACER ASPIRE 5538G AMD ATLON 64
    I have installed Ubuntu on it as Windows 7 was really slow en working not all. Ubuntu is working just super, just lovin this OS more and more each day. But Skype is not working.It freezes my pc

    I installed both 32 and 64 bits Skype installed them and removed them several times but each time i start skype the application does nt let me even sign in... My pc freezes ... And i need to do a cold reboot /

    As i see it this could be a

    Hardware related to the network card that could have been damaged a bit as wireless does not work properly i have to reconnect 5 times to wifi a day. Other pc notebooks have no issues here


    Software related ... But where to go ? I have tried many tricks on this that google has given me but none seem to work

    or Maybe it has to do with a firewall settings?
    I have been playing around with ufw a bit and must admit that maybe i m not skilled enough to do this...

    Any suggestions on this one ?

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Could it be that firewall blocks Skype?

    It sounds more like hardware. You could disable the firewall just to try that though.
    Code:
    sudo ufw disable
    When you restart your computer it will be disabled, if you want to
    reverse it.
    Code:
    sudo ufw enable
    I really don't think the firewall is the problem though, but this
    will verify or eliminate that possibility.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Belgium
    Beans
    22
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Could it be that firewall blocks Skype?

    Quote Originally Posted by offgridguy View Post
    It sounds more like hardware. You could disable the firewall just to try that though.
    Code:
    sudo ufw disable
    When you restart your computer it will be disabled, if you want to
    reverse it.
    Code:
    sudo ufw enable
    I really don't think the firewall is the problem though, but this
    will verify or eliminate that possibility.

    Hey Thanks for update. I have tried it but skype is still freezin my pc. Thanks anyway....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Belgium
    Beans
    22
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Could it be that firewall blocks Skype?

    Hi could it be that Apache which k installed a few weeks ago is blocking skype? And this causes my pc to freeze each time i start skype ?


    Google told me that skype and Apache work on the same ports

    I guess i can only find out to uninstall wamp but how can i do this via the command line

    ?

    I m on my way to a solution for this

    i guess

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Al Ain
    Beans
    8,123

    Re: Could it be that firewall blocks Skype?

    Freeze your PC as in totally unresponsive to keyboard and mouse pointer? Yes Skype can do that.

    Try downloading the latest "static" version from the Skype web site.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    The Shadow Gallery
    Beans
    6,807

    Re: Could it be that firewall blocks Skype?

    https://support.skype.com/en/faq/FA1...indows-desktop

    Ignore the mention of it being on a window desktop. same ports.

    Though it being blocked by the firewall wont cause it to freeze and leave your machine unresponsive.

    Make sure you have latest version, there have been some people having issues with x64 but works fine on my system.
    Feel Free to Bitcoin Tip: 135Rp4pwwYTHEJ4u8bxKaDQiC91N9LUoV2

    Backtrack - Giving machine guns to monkeys since 2006
    Kali-Linux - Adding a grenade launcher to the machine guns since 2013

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Belgium
    Beans
    22
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Could it be that firewall blocks Skype?

    Thanks guys for your replys

    I m gonna remove skype and then try to install the static version
    and or the latest version ...See what works then i ll stop troubleshooting...This Should be the fix as this is probably not related to my hardware

    although i have to reconnect sometimes to LAN network It
    works good enough downloading torrents and all works Superquick when max 3 hosts are on my Wireless Lan so...
    Only when my mams & dads and bro's go online with Ipad en and Iphones in combination with 2 other pcs and one imac it disconnects ....which makes me conclude that this is not fysical layer hardware related issue...

    Thanks already for all the tips and advice...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •