Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Unity broke when I moved my disk to a new computer

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Beans
    4

    Unity broke when I moved my disk to a new computer

    I moved my "Ubuntu 12.04.2 LTS" boot drive to a new computer.
    The desktop login still looks okay, but if I connect via VNC, I get a blank screen instead of my Unity desktop.
    syslog has some errors, that seem to start with this one
    "x-session-manager[6235]: Gdk-WARNING: x-session-manager: Fatal IO error 11 (Resource temporarily unavailable) on X server :25.#012"

    My VNC session is "25" deliberately, but I have tried other numbers.

    "compiz[9406]: segfault at 3c ip b6113057 sp bfdaf810 error 4 in libcomposite.so[b6108000+21000]"

    .xsession-errors has some error messages, like
    (gnome-settings-daemon:4692): color-plugin-WARNING **: unable to get EDID for xrandr-default: unable to get EDID for output

    I/O warning : failed to load external entity "/home/clarence/.compiz/session/10301235a14df254bb136120456075273800000046400036"

    X Error of failed request: BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation)
    Major opcode of failed request: 109 (X_ChangeHosts)
    Value in failed request: 0x5

    ----------------------------------------------------------
    I moved the disk from a desktop with an unsupported old NVidia card
    model name : Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation NV18GL [Quadro NVS 280 SD] (rev c1) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])

    to a Lenovo T61p laptop with model name : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T7700 @ 2.40GHz
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation G84M [Quadro FX 570M] (rev a1) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])

    I have tried with nouveau and NVidia drivers, using either "display" or the NVidia tool to configure for external display only, or dual.
    It just occured to me that I haven't tried with the external dsiplay disconnected.

    I have tried to follow various "reset unity" and "reset compiz" threads, to no avail.

    Should I uninstall and reinstall a few packages?

    -- clarence

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    ozarks, Arkansas, USA
    Beans
    14,199
    Distro
    Xubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

    Re: Unity broke when I moved my disk to a new computer

    ClarenceD; Hi ! Welcome to the forum.

    With the disk swap definitely need to at least change the drivers, in particular the graphics driver. This code will remove the Nvida stuff and install the nouveau driver. If you do not want the nouveau driver, see below.
    Code:
      sudo nvidia-settings --uninstall
      sudo apt-get remove --purge nvidia*
      sudo apt-get remove --purge xserver-xorg-video-nouveau xserver-xorg-video-nv
      sudo apt-get install nvidia-common
      sudo apt-get install xserver-xorg-video-nouveau
      sudo apt-get install --reinstall libgl1-mesa-glx libgl1-mesa-dri xserver-xorg-core
      sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg
    Then reboot your system and when it comes up it will be running with nouveau.

    else: if ya want to run the Nvidia driver:
    do all the above 'till apt-get install; do to install Nvidia:

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install linux-headers-generic
    sudo apt-get install nvidia-current nvidia-settings
    just try'n to help

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Beans
    2

    Re: Unity broke when I moved my disk to a new computer

    Quote Originally Posted by Bashing-om View Post
    ClarenceD; Hi ! Welcome to the forum.

    With the disk swap definitely need to at least change the drivers, in particular the graphics driver. This code will remove the Nvida stuff and install the nouveau driver. If you do not want the nouveau driver, see below.
    My monitor works fine, it's just VNC that doesn't work.
    I used the "proprietary drivers" tool to enable NVidia, which wasn't enabled on the old machine, and then back to noveau, and back to NVidia, so the hardware portion of the drivers should have updated.

    I'll try the packages as you listed them, and see what happens.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Beans
    2

    Re: Unity broke when I moved my disk to a new computer

    Quote Originally Posted by Bashing-om View Post
    ClarenceD; Hi ! Welcome to the forum.
    I've been lurking for a while. I've been a Redhat guy, and stumbled onto Ubuntu while rescuing a trashed Windows disk via LiveCD, which RHEL didn't have at the time.

    Since then, I've been an Ubuntu fan, and this is the first time I've needed to post a question, since everything else seems to already be answered here

    -- clarence

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    ozarks, Arkansas, USA
    Beans
    14,199
    Distro
    Xubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

    Re: Unity broke when I moved my disk to a new computer

    ClarDold;

    Looks like you have properly set the graphics driver. As the "desktop" is fully functional, must be a disparity in the protocol to implement the VNC connection.
    I have never ran VNC so have no experience/knowledge and must now bow out of advisement. I will monitor this thread for my education !
    I expect others more knowledgeable in this area will pick up on this thread.

    best regards.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Beans
    4

    Re: Unity broke when I moved my disk to a new computer

    Quote Originally Posted by Bashing-om View Post
    With the disk swap definitely need to at least change the drivers, in particular the graphics driver.
    I ran all of those, with no effect.
    I still had a segfault from compiz, so I uninstalled and reinstalled compiz.
    That made a difference

    Now, my console was blank, just like my VNC session.

    So I uninstalled compiz and rebooted.
    The console looks good, and the VNC looks good.
    Compiz must not like something about the new computer.

    Code:
    apt-get remove --purge compiz\* libcompizconfig0

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    ozarks, Arkansas, USA
    Beans
    14,199
    Distro
    Xubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

    Re: Unity broke when I moved my disk to a new computer

    ClarenceD;

    Wow, As I live and learn. Look and see how your card likes unity:
    Terminal command:
    Code:
    /usr/lib/nux/unity_support_test -p
    all responses should be "yes".
    what can I say

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Beans
    4

    Re: Unity broke when I moved my disk to a new computer

    Quote Originally Posted by Bashing-om View Post
    ClarenceD;

    Wow, As I live and learn. Look and see how your card likes unity:
    Terminal command:
    Code:
    /usr/lib/nux/unity_support_test -p
    all responses should be "yes".
    what can I say
    Well, that tells a tale, although I'm not sure what...
    It fails on VNC, and runs on the console.
    I'm happy without Compiz, so I am good to go with the current configuration anyway.


    Code:
    VNC $ /usr/lib/nux/unity_support_test -p
    Xlib:  extension "GLX" missing on display ":25".
    Error: GLX is not available on the system
    Code:
    Console $ /usr/lib/nux/unity_support_test -p
    OpenGL vendor string:   NVIDIA Corporation
    OpenGL renderer string: Quadro FX 570M/PCIe/SSE2
    OpenGL version string:  3.3.0 NVIDIA 295.40
    
    Not software rendered:    yes
    Not blacklisted:          yes
    GLX fbconfig:             yes
    GLX texture from pixmap:  yes
    GL npot or rect textures: yes
    GL vertex program:        yes
    GL fragment program:      yes
    GL vertex buffer object:  yes
    GL framebuffer object:    yes
    GL version is 1.4+:       yes
    
    Unity 3D supported:       yes

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    ozarks, Arkansas, USA
    Beans
    14,199
    Distro
    Xubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

    Re: Unity broke when I moved my disk to a new computer

    ClarenceD;

    IDK, I am sorta chasing my own tail now. Need to get some direction.
    Let's do this ...let's look at the X.org.0.log file, both on the host prior to starting the VNC connection and afterward, see what the system tells us.
    Code:
    cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep glx
    Maybe there is a miss link to the libraries on vnc ?

    And on a similar thought, do you have a vnc connection log ?

    Also ran across a thread that how one connects might be an issue:
    http://serverfault.com/questions/174...tely-using-vnc
    which way did he go, George

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •