Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Server security at home

Beans

Server security at home

Hi
    I was hoping to get a few pointers on server security specific for my situation. I'm a complete novice and have just installed the ubuntu server 12.04LTS (not desktop) using Virtualbox yesterday as I want to host my own website (a Joomla CMS) from a home pc.

I've watched numerous youtube videos and read several threads (including stickies) but don't yet know enough to be able to understand what most of it means and my brain is getting fried!

I realise I have to start somewhere so was wondering if it's possible to set up the server on my pc and then simply block all external ips trying to connect to it (as I won't need external access), thus eliminating the possiblility of hacking.

With all the different posts on security (talking about stuff I don't yet understand) I've been unable to find one that tells me if such a straight forward approach is a viable place to start, or whether it will offer any real protection.

Also, I won't be using the pc for anything else at all e.g. web browsing, so would it be OK to install the server through the desktop version of Ubuntu so I can use Webmin to access it through Firefox as I don't yet understand enough about using commands to get everything up and running without some kind of user friendly interface.

Are there any threads that specifically deal with the above situation as I haven't been able to find any and am fed up reading pages of info that are full of terminology I don't understand?

Thanks in advance

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Server security at home

Congratulations!

As long at the "server" is not available from the internet, there is very little risk of being hacked. However, if a single port, 1 protocol are forwarded to the server, then you are at risk and it can become the Trojan Horse for your entire internal network.