Normally when we create a folder or a symbolic link on the desktop or the current working workspace, it appears on all the workspaces.

Is there a way to stop this? Like we have the facility to have different applications in different workspaces, I wish to apply the same principle to folders and shortcuts(have different shortcuts and folders in different workspaces). How can this be done?