Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 51

Thread: Macbook 8,2 EFI install / GPU switching

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Beans
    35

    Re: Macbook 8,2 EFI install / GPU switching

    Yes, this is an important one.
    Code:
    # CONFIG_FB_EFI is not set
    Scaling is working:
    Code:
    ~$ cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep "cpu MHz"
    cpu MHz		: 800.000
    cpu MHz		: 800.000
    cpu MHz		: 800.000
    cpu MHz		: 800.000
    cpu MHz		: 800.000
    cpu MHz		: 800.000
    cpu MHz		: 800.000
    cpu MHz		: 800.000
    I also have Jupiter installed and it is setting the cpu governor to ondemand.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Portugal
    Beans
    82

    Re: Macbook 8,2 EFI install / GPU switching

    Quote Originally Posted by Chav View Post
    Yes, this is an important one.
    Code:
    # CONFIG_FB_EFI is not set
    Scaling is working:
    Code:
    ~$ cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep "cpu MHz"
    cpu MHz		: 800.000
    cpu MHz		: 800.000
    cpu MHz		: 800.000
    cpu MHz		: 800.000
    cpu MHz		: 800.000
    cpu MHz		: 800.000
    cpu MHz		: 800.000
    cpu MHz		: 800.000
    I also have Jupiter installed and it is setting the cpu governor to ondemand.
    I've installed jupiter and it seems to be downclocking but CPU Turbo Boost doesn't seem to work.
    Compiling the new kernel now.
    [-]SilverOne[-] [- Best Regards

  3. #23
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Portugal
    Beans
    82

    Re: Macbook 8,2 EFI install / GPU switching

    Alright, i've got it running . However, it would appear vgaswitcheroo is not installed?

    Code:
    bash: /sys/kernel/debug/vgaswitcheroo/switch: No such file or directory
    root@silver-mbp:/home/silverone# echo DIS > /sys/kernel/debug/vgaswitcheroo/switch
    bash: /sys/kernel/debug/vgaswitcheroo/switch: No such file or directory
    root@silver-mbp:/home/silverone# exit
    exit
    [-]SilverOne[-] [- Best Regards

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Beans
    35

    Re: Macbook 8,2 EFI install / GPU switching

    Vgaswitcheroo wont load unless two graphics drivers are present.

    If, for example, the radeon driver failed to load then you wont see vgaswitcheroo.

    First off is to see if both cards are connected:

    Code:
    $ lspci | grep VGA
    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 09)
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Whistler [AMD Radeon HD 6600M Serie
    This shows that both cards are present and not hidden.

    See if the radeon driver is loaded:

    Code:
    lsmod | grep radeon
    I'm guessing that wont show anything meaning that the radeon driver failed to load. You can look at dmesg for errors to figure out why. Again, I'm guessing, that it has to do with the vbios.bin not being found or the patch not being applied.

    Ah ha! As I was typing that I realized the issue.

    When we did
    Code:
    git reset --hard
    That undid the radeon load bios patch. Sorry!

    So the steps are (off the top of my head):
    make clean
    git clean -df
    git reset --hard
    apply the radeon patch
    build the kernel
    Last edited by Chav; February 21st, 2013 at 12:14 AM.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Portugal
    Beans
    82

    Re: Macbook 8,2 EFI install / GPU switching

    Quote Originally Posted by Chav View Post
    Vgaswitcheroo wont load unless two graphics drivers are present.

    If, for example, the radeon driver failed to load then you wont see vgaswitcheroo.

    First off is to see if both cards are connected:

    Code:
    $ lspci | grep VGA
    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 09)
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Whistler [AMD Radeon HD 6600M Serie
    This shows that both cards are present and not hidden.

    See if the radeon driver is loaded:

    Code:
    lsmod | grep radeon
    I'm guessing that wont show anything meaning that the radeon driver failed to load. You can look at dmesg for errors to figure out why. Again, I'm guessing, that it has to do with the vbios.bin not being found or the patch not being applied.

    Ah ha! As I was typing that I realized the issue.

    When we did
    Code:
    git reset --hard
    That undid the radeon load bios patch. Sorry!

    So the steps are (off the top of my head):
    make clean
    git clean -df
    git reset --hard
    apply the radeon patch
    build the kernel
    Hello!

    I didn't do those steps since i'm still on the 3.8.0 kernel, this git:
    git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/torvalds/linux.git

    this git doesn't present me with the problem raring did got lucky i suppose

    however here are the commands you've ran:

    Code:
    silverone@silver-mbp:~$ lspci | grep VGA
    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 09)
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Whistler [AMD Radeon HD 6600M Series]
    silverone@silver-mbp:~$ lsmod | grep radeon
    radeon                941684  0 
    ttm                    83361  1 radeon
    silverone@silver-mbp:~$
    seems like both cards are online.
    [-]SilverOne[-] [- Best Regards

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Beans
    35

    Re: Macbook 8,2 EFI install / GPU switching

    Hmm, next step is to look at dmesg to see if there are errors regarding the graphics drivers or vgaswitcheroo.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Portugal
    Beans
    82

    Re: Macbook 8,2 EFI install / GPU switching

    Code:
    silverone@silver-mbp:~$ dmesg | grep vga
    [    2.322717] vgaarb: device added: PCI:0000:00:02.0,decodes=io+mem,owns=io+mem,locks=none
    [    2.322722] vgaarb: device added: PCI:0000:01:00.0,decodes=io+mem,owns=none,locks=none
    [    2.322724] vgaarb: loaded
    [    2.322725] vgaarb: bridge control possible 0000:01:00.0
    [    2.322726] vgaarb: no bridge control possible 0000:00:02.0
    [    4.933224] vgaarb: device changed decodes: PCI:0000:00:02.0,olddecodes=io+mem,decodes=none:owns=io+mem
    [    4.933226] vgaarb: transferring owner from PCI:0000:00:02.0 to PCI:0000:01:00.0
    [    5.180151] [drm] GMBUS [i915 gmbus vga] timed out, falling back to bit banging on pin 2
    [    8.281258] vga_switcheroo: enabled
    [    8.282478] vga_switcheroo: disabled
    seems like it turned off vga_switcheroo pretty early.

    Code:
    silverone@silver-mbp:~$ dmesg | grep radeon
    [    8.281040] [drm] radeon defaulting to kernel modesetting.
    [    8.281042] [drm] radeon kernel modesetting enabled.
    [    8.281290] radeon 0000:01:00.0: Invalid ROM contents
    [    8.281352] radeon 0000:01:00.0: Invalid ROM contents
    [    8.281376] [drm:radeon_get_bios] *ERROR* Unable to locate a BIOS ROM
    [    8.281400] radeon 0000:01:00.0: Fatal error during GPU init
    [    8.281422] [drm] radeon: finishing device.
    [    8.282568] radeon: probe of 0000:01:00.0 failed with error -22
    i've checked and vbios is where it should be.
    Last edited by SilverOne; February 21st, 2013 at 12:27 AM.
    [-]SilverOne[-] [- Best Regards

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Beans
    35

    Re: Macbook 8,2 EFI install / GPU switching

    Weird. Have you opened your .config and checked that the config options are set to the same as mine?

    edit: I've attached my config for reference.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Chav; February 21st, 2013 at 12:37 AM.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Portugal
    Beans
    82

    Re: Macbook 8,2 EFI install / GPU switching

    Quote Originally Posted by Chav View Post
    Weird. Have you opened your .config and checked that the config options are set to the same as mine?
    sigh i edited the wrong post ....

    anyway, here's what i found :

    i checked the .config, and the
    CONFIG_FW_LOADER=y
    CONFIG_FIRMWARE_IN_KERNEL=y
    CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE="radeon/vbios.bin"
    CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE_DIR="/lib/firmware/"

    isn't there. maybe i didn't save the file before quitting. i'll try recompiling.
    [-]SilverOne[-] [- Best Regards

  10. #30
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Portugal
    Beans
    82

    Re: Macbook 8,2 EFI install / GPU switching

    Hello!

    no joy, i'm getting the same errors.
    Can you get me an md5 on your vbios.bin? maybe its corrupted somehow?

    Code:
    silverone@silver-mbp:~/kernel/linux$ cat .config | grep CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE
    CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE="radeon/vbios.bin"
    CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE_DIR="/lib/firmware/"
    silverone@silver-mbp:~/kernel/linux$ md5sum '/lib/firmware/radeon/vbios.bin' 
    b42bc234ca257f1710ad81a23390b220  /lib/firmware/radeon/vbios.bin
    silverone@silver-mbp:~/kernel/linux$
    i haven't exactly compared your .config to mine. I looked where your extra_firmware stuff was and placed mine there. I'll take a look at it now.

    also here's my grub2:

    Code:
    menuentry "Ubuntu - IG" {
    record fail
            insmod gzio
            insmod part_gpt
            insmod ext2
            set gfxpayload=keep
            outb 0x728 1
            outb 0x710 2
            outb 0x740 2
            set root='hd0,hpt4'
            search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 36a95a24-b710-43f7-9cec-d2ed409a4f5f
            linux   /boot/vmlinuz-3.8.0-custom root=UUID=36a95a24-b710-43f7-9cec-d2ed409a4f5f ro   quiet splash i915.lvds_use_ssc=0 
            initrd  /boot/initrd.img-3.8.0-custom
    }
    Last edited by SilverOne; February 21st, 2013 at 02:30 AM.
    [-]SilverOne[-] [- Best Regards

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •