Thread: Kernel and other questions

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Kernel and other questions

Quote Originally Posted by thedardanius View Post
    ok,

so this problem started when I decided to update some of the kernel. Im totally new to ubuntu, and at first, the software updater seemed handy. I decided to update linux headers 2.3.0-23-generic or so, but the updater continuously stopped doing its job when reaching that update. So I needed to reboot while not having finished an update (sounds dangerous even for a windows user). Next time I entered, my desktop was gone. I was like **** did I do with my OS?
    So I used recovery mode and choose "repair packages", dspgor dsgk or sth like that. It seemed that it didnt do anything, it only showed: fsck by linux, cleaned sth sth..."
    then I rebooted again with the powerbutton (dangerous), checked with original boot if it worked and it was ok. I decided to retry the update, but again, it frooze at that linux header. I rebooted again, and saw in advanced options for ubuntu 2 OS, ubuntu with linux 2.3.0-17 and 2.3.0-23. Did I actually download a new kernel? I though I only dowloaded the header? Or does it boot the new kernel code? Pls... Im lost in this linux world.
    Then I did the same, choose dskg or sth to repair broken packages. I rebooted and started ubuntu normally, apparantly, my nvidia driver doesnt pop up in the beginnin (normally i would see nvidia logo for a split moment) and I entered the desktop without mouse, wrong resolution... OMG i hope I havent ruined enough to be resorted to reinstall my OS...
    hi follow
    got the same probelm and they got a post from me. stay cool - hope they will answer.
    but that shows me - i am not alone. every thing is working ok ( but i bet there is a hidden bug anywhere).
    cheers
    "What is the robbing of a bank compared to the FOUNDING of a bank?" Berthold Brecht

Beans
    Distro

Re: Double kernel??!?