Thread: is this app idea possible?

Hybrid View

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

is this app idea possible?

Hi

I'm a University student. The varsity allocates about 3gigs of data per month for each student. My friends normally finish their data before the end of the month and hassle me for mine.

The thing is --- we each have passwords. The problem I have is that they want me to give them my password. You might think --- it's not a big deal since you can change it.

The problem however is that I cannot recycle my passwords as with the university password system -- you cannot change your password to a previous one for security reasons.

I've been meaning to build an app that can create a temp. password for my account.
    Is this possible and how would one go about doing it?

Regards

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: is this app idea possible?

You should already have a password generator called apg that generates strong passwords:

Code:
    $ apg

Please enter some random data (only first 16 are significant)
    (eg. your old password):>
    Felbyet2 (Felb-yet-TWO)
    OthOmmuIpOs8 (Oth-Om-mu-Ip-Os-EIGHT)
    ojDaffyab8 (oj-Daff-yab-EIGHT)
    yedguAjnot8 (yed-gu-Aj-not-EIGHT)
    ErfLckFam8 (Erf-Lck-Fam-EIGHT)
    madBirb4 (mad-Birb-FOUR)

Beans
    Distro

I don't want to just generate passwords.

I want to generate TEMPORARY passwords for a specific account!

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by 3v3rgr33n View Post
    I don't want to just generate passwords.

I want to generate TEMPORARY passwords for a specific account!
    How will passwords be set? Will the password expire and change after a period of time? You say you can't recycle passwords so the password can't be reset to what it was originally, right?

Beans
    Distro

Quote Originally Posted by SuperCamel View Post