Thread: VirtualBox - Problem switching from repos to .deb

Beans

VirtualBox - Problem switching from repos to .deb

Hi. First off, I should probably warn you I've only been using linux for 2 weeks, so I'm a bit of a newbie. I'm on Ubuntu 12.10 and I started using VB last night by installing it from the repos. After working out that I needed to get the .deb package from the website to get USB support, I uninstalled VB with:

Code:
    sudo apt-get purge virtualbox
    Then I installed the deb (32-bit) and tried to open the Windows 7 guest I had on the last version, and I got the following error:
    Failed to open a session for the virtual machine Windows 7.

The virtual machine 'Windows 7' has terminated unexpectedly during startup with exit code 1.

Result Code: NS_ERROR_FAILURE (0x80004005)
    Component: Machine
    Interface: IMachine {22781af3-1c96-4126-9edf-67a020e0e858}
    This was followed with another pop-up error:
    RTR3InitEx failed with rc=-1912 (rc=-1912)

The VirtualBox kernel modules do not match this version of VirtualBox. The installation of VirtualBox was apparently not successful. Executing

'/etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup'

may correct this. Make sure that you do not mix the OSE version and the PUEL version of VirtualBox.
    I tried creating a new machine and got the same error. So I'm guessing something went wrong in the uninstall of the repo version. When installing the .deb version with dpkg, I keep getting this:
    Code:
     * Stopping VirtualBox kernel modules                                           
     * Cannot unload module vboxdrv
    As I said, I'm new to this kind of thing and couldn't even begin to guess what a Kernel Module is. Any ideas on how to fix this?

Thanks

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: VirtualBox - Problem switching from repos to .deb